black ice spell

By Thulsa_Doom, in Talisman Rules Questions

Say someone cast black ice on the space they are on, if someone else lands on them and chooses to encounter the character and not the space would black ice effect the character landing on the character that has black ice on the space.

I guess what I am asking is, does encountering a character and not encountering a space mean you don’t "land" on the space the character you are encountering is on?

Or

Does the act of encountering the character and not that space mean that even if you land on the space any effect that landing on that space my have, is ignored?

Or

Even if you encounter a character on a space that has black ice on it, because you landed on that space you are affected by black ice?

thx for any help in this matter,

Thulsa_Doom

Thulsa_Doom said:

Say someone cast black ice on the space they are on, if someone else lands on them and chooses to encounter the character and not the space would black ice effect the character landing on the character that has black ice on the space.

I think that black ice has no effect if you choose to encounter the character

Thulsa_Doom said:

I guess what I am asking is, does encountering a character and not encountering a space mean you don’t "land" on the space the character you are encountering is on?

Yes.

It's the same as the desert.

If you encounter a character in the desert, then you don't lose a life

Thulsa_Doom said:

Does the act of encountering the character and not that space mean that even if you land on the space any effect that landing on that space my have, is ignored?

Yes

Thulsa_Doom said:

Even if you encounter a character on a space that has black ice on it, because you landed on that space you are affected by black ice?

I think that black ice has no effect

You encounter the character instead of the space gui%C3%B1o.gif

I'm afraid you are wrong Velhart.

If a player lands on a space with Black Ice, he must move onto the next space instead period. It doesn't matter whether or not he wanted to encounter the space or another character in the space. Black Ice works in exactly the same manner as the Druid landing on a Woods space and gaining his full complement of Spells, before he decides whether or not to encounter the space or another character in the space!

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

I'm afraid you are wrong Velhart.

If a player lands on a space with Black Ice, he must move onto the next space instead period. It doesn't matter whether or not he wanted to encounter the space or another character in the space. Black Ice works in exactly the same manner as the Druid landing on a Woods space and gaining his full complement of Spells, before he decides whether or not to encounter the space or another character in the space!

Ell.

Hi Ell,

I was actually not 100% sure of my answer.

But when i thought about the desert or cursed glade rule, i thought this was the same, because a character can choose to encounter a a character or the space itself, and the black ice is placed on the space.

But if i think the other way around, Black Ice is activated while you move, before you encounter any space, so i think you are right. gui%C3%B1o.gif

I agree with you gui%C3%B1o.gif

@Thulsa_doom:

Just ignore what i said about the Black Ice spell.

Have fun!

Greetings,

Velhart