Spirit spear (not a question that seems to be on these forums)

By Shatteredragon, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

It is obvious when you use a spirit spear you can hit a "legal" space and any two that are adjacent to it, in any form or shape (one on either side, bent, or straightlined out based on adjacency rules, it just says, target three squares, they just have to be adjacent to each other and you must have LoS (barring other skills) to one space to use it. My query is, does that mean two spaces can target a two square figure, and a third another, can all three be put on a four or six square based figure, and does this mean the larger creatures (more than one square base) get hit 2 or 3 times with the attack instead of once? If this is the case, does the armor get applied for each space targeted or only removed once? Or is there just the original damage and they get 2-3 daze tokens depending on whether damage got thru? Does each space targeted take the damage, and whatever is on it. or can the damage only be applied to a target once wasting all additional spaces put on the creature?

I'm fairly sure there was a ruling that said that large creatures caught in area effect attacks (such as Blast) are only hit once regardless of how many squares they occupy within the area affected. Darned if I can find that ruling right now, though.

I would say the same thing applies to Spirit Spear. ie: putting multiple of its spaces on a single large creature is a waste of time in most circumstances.

Right in the basic rules, pg. 15:

• Large monsters can only be targeted once by a single
attack, even if a Blast or Sweep attack covers multiple
spaces occupied by the figure.

That's all I needed, thanx, my players are good at exploiting loopholes in games, better to know now than later. I figured it was more of a choose three targets and hit them kind of attack.