Can a Lieutenant "raze" a city and then ALSO move, before the Heroes have their go?

By kojiro2, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Can a Lieutenant be "present" in Turn 2 to "Raze" a city, then move away from the city in Turn 3 before the Heroes have their move? (I'm avoiding the words "sieging" and "besieging" for a reason...)


I've double-checked the Road To Legend Rules, Errata v 1.3 and this forum but just wanted to check again...

CONTEXT

Turn 1: Time Passes...let's say it's Week 10.
Turn 2: Lt. Lord Merick Farrow is already in Dawnsmoor with 4 Siege tokens. He rolls a Surge and Dawnsmoor is Razed.
Turn 3: Lt. Lord Merick Farrow moves to Misty Plains.
Turn 4: Heroes turn.....they start their turn in Blackwing Swamp......and they're somewhat annoyed. They thought they could "catch" him in Dawnsmoor because he had to stay there to "besiege" the City in the first place. How can he destroy a city and then move out of the Heroes' reach; ie. still 1 step ahead?

CAN A LT. DO THIS?

IE. "Raze" a city AND then move away before the Heroes have their turn?


From the Road To Legend Rules:

TURN 1 - Time Passes... (not relevant)

TURN 2 - Resolve Sieges

First, remove all siege tokens from cities where at
least one of the overlord’s lieutenants is not also
present.
Then, for each city that has a number of siege
tokens on it equal to its Defense rating, roll a black power die.
On a surge, the city is razed. On any other result, simply leave
the siege tokens in place.
Razed Cities
When a city has been razed, it is destroyed for
good. Flip one of the siege tokens over to the razed
side, and remove the others. The heroes can still
move through the razed city’s space on the map
board, but the city no longer contains any services
for them to use, such as the Market, Alchemist, and so on.
Exception: If Tamalir is razed, the overlord immediately wins
the campaign.

TURN 3 - OVERLORD ACTIONS

When the overlord acts during the game week, he may do two
different types of actions: issues order to his lieutenants, and
purchase an upgrade. He may do these in any order, even
purchasing an upgrade between issuing orders to different
lieutenants.
Lieutenant Orders
The overlord may issue one order to each of his lieutenants per
game week. Each order may be to either move or besiege a
city.
• Move: When moving, a lieutenant moves its marker from
its current location, along one trail (of any type), to a new
location. He does not check for encounters. However,
lieutenants cannot enter Legendary Areas or Secret Master
Areas. If a lieutenant enters the party’s location he may
(but does not have to) attack the party (see “Encounters
Involving Lieutenants” on page 16).
• Besiege a City: If the lieutenant begins his turn in a city,
he can besiege it. If he does, the overlord places a siege
token on that city’s space, as long as it currently has fewer
siege tokens than the city’s Defense rating. (If it currently
has siege tokens equal to the city’s Defense rating, the
overlord does not add additional siege tokens.)
Upgrades
The overlord may purchase one upgrade per game week with
his XP. Upgrade examples include Avatar Upgrades, Plot cards,
treachery upgrades, and monster upgrades. For a full list, see
“Overlord Upgrades” on page 24.

Any thoughts?

We've always played 'raze' and move on.

The 'raze' roll is the result of the 3/4/5/6 previous turns actions where the Lt. laid siege to the city and had to remain in place. Provided the roll succeeds, the Lt's job there is now done and they have other goals to accomplish. If it doesn't succeed they must either remain or someone else must take their place to insure that all their hard work is not undone.

Additionally, the OL's turn sequence is set up so that the 'orders to Lt' action is after the potential 'razing' of the cities. It's really no different then purchasing a LT and giving him an order to move out that first turn.

Yes, no problem.

Note that what you are referring to as 'turns' are in fact 'steps' within the same week-turn. Step 1, Step 2, etc.

Thanks guys.

So far, I've been rolling to "raze" as if it was a Lieutenant action in Step 3.
Which means 1 of my LTs could've moved an extra location by now but it won't make a big difference.
I currently have 2 LTs sitting on one City so I was about to mistakenly roll 2 "raze" rolls (one for each LT) until I re-read that section.

I'll have to sit down and re-read the rules for the seventh time. ; )