Last gamenights questions

By Christen, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Well we played last night, we are playing RTL in silver now. And there was a lot of questions, so we agreed to find out til next time.

  1. Does the water in encounters work the same way as in dungeons?
  2. If there is a corridor of 2 spaces and one hero is filling one of the two spaces can a large monster filling 4 spaces walk past him? Or does he block its way?
  3. If you have a troll with the bash ability, can you choose not to use the skill, but still use the black dices? And what if you have something that gives him ekstra black dices another way, what happens on blanks?
  4. The heroes can get web weapons. How does web work on monsters, sience they dont have traits? And on large monsters?
  5. What about the if a monster is webed by a hero on gueard? Does he stop there or can he roll at once to get out of it?
  6. In an encounter, what happens if the heroes have killed all the monsters but there is reinforcements waiting in an entrance. Do they win or have to kill it as well?
  7. Is it total conquest token you count for legendary areas?
  8. Can the heroes bye more thatn 5 black dices with fatigue?
  9. The throne obstecal, WTF?
    What happens if a monster has reach, does he have to count an ekstra space if a hero is on top
    If a large monster wants to get on top of the throne, can he stop his movement half way up. So he is only standing on two of the spaces og the throne? And what effect will that have?
    It does not block line of sight so you can shoot through it. If a person is standing on top of it does he block line of sight then?

Christen said:

Does the water in encounters work the same way as in dungeons?

Yes. There's a different type of water in SoB, but you aren't playing that one, so all water is the same for you.

Christen said:

If there is a corridor of 2 spaces and one hero is filling one of the two spaces can a large monster filling 4 spaces walk past him? Or does he block its way?

No, the large monster can't walk past in this instance. Since the corridor is only 2 spaces wide the large monster would need to occupy the hero's space at some point in order to move past, and it isn't allowed to do that.

If you're thinking of the rules for large monsters and terrain that say the large monster can choose which space to be affect by, keep in mind that heroes are not terrain, they are figures. Large monsters still occupy all the spaces they normally do, even if they have the option to ignore some of the terrain in those spaces.

Christen said:

If you have a troll with the bash ability, can you choose not to use the skill, but still use the black dices? And what if you have something that gives him ekstra black dices another way, what happens on blanks?

You cannot claim power dice from the Bash skill without accepting all of the effects of the Bash skill. If you have power dice (or upgrades) from another source you can still use those without activating Bash (and therefore without risking the penalty upon rolling a blank.) However, if you claim any number of extra black dice from Bash you must accept the penalty on a blank.

The way the power is written, you could choose to use the ability without claiming any dice if you wanted to , and you would take the penalty while getting the surge benefit, but that's an option, not a requirement.

Christen said:

The heroes can get web weapons. How does web work on monsters, sience they dont have traits? And on large monsters?

Web works on monsters the same way it works on heroes, except they don't get any bonus dice from traits. So they roll one die and hope for the best. The rules state that large monsters get extra dice equal to the number of squares they occupy beyond the first, so an ogre would roll 4 dice to break out of a web (1 die that all monsters get + 3 dice for each space he occupies beyond the first), while a beastman would roll 1. A hellhoud or a blood ape would roll 2 dice. etc. Monsters of all sizes are equally affected by web for as long as they have at least one web token on them.

Christen said:

What about the if a monster is webed by a hero on gueard? Does he stop there or can he roll at once to get out of it?

I seem to recall a discussion about this (and other effect tokens) that concluded they wouldn't take effect until the beginning of the turn, so a monster webbed by a guard attack would continue moving and only become stuck the next time it was activated (assuming it didn't break free.) Now, keep in mind this was just fans discussing the rules, so it's nothing official. I don't know if there's been an official ruling on the subject yet, and if you wanted to say that it gets stuck mid-stride that's you call to make.

Christen said:

In an encounter, what happens if the heroes have killed all the monsters but there is reinforcements waiting in an entrance. Do they win or have to kill it as well?

Reinforcements are explictly said to be "off the board" until such time as they move onto it, and a party victory outcome is reached if the heroes have killed all monsters on the board , so I would say the heroes do not have to fight any reinforcements that are still waiting in the wings.

Christen said:

Is it total conquest token you count for legendary areas?

I'm not sure what you mean by this. There are three Legendary Areas and each one is only available in one Campaign Level (Copper, Silver or Gold) Campaign Level is determined by adding the CT totals of the heroes and the OL together, if that's what you mean. You said your campaign was in Silver now, so the Copper Legendary Area (Caverns of Thuul, I think) would not be available to your heroes any longer.

Christen said:

Can the heroes bye more thatn 5 black dices with fatigue?

You can never have more than 5 power dice on a single attack, whatever colour they are. So no, the heroes cannot buy more than 5 black power dice. Any silver or gold power dice they might have from training still count toward the 5 die limit, so a hero with one (permanent) silver power die could still only buy at most 4 black power dice for a single attack using fatigue.

However, heroes can buy die upgrades before rolling. By paying 2 fatigue, a hero can buy 2 black power dice OR 1 Silver power die. He cannot "upgrade" a die after he's rolled it, but he can add more dice of any colour by paying the appropriate amount of fatigue, assuming he doesn't have a total of 5 power die in the attack yet.

Christen said:

The throne obstecal, WTF?
What happens if a monster has reach, does he have to count an ekstra space if a hero is on top

Reach is an ability used by melee attacks, and melee attacks ignore rolled range, so a monster with Reach can still hit a hero on the throne (or a bed or a table) if it's within two spaces of him. The monster WILL still take the -1 damage penalty for "attacking up" however.

Christen said:

If a large monster wants to get on top of the throne, can he stop his movement half way up. So he is only standing on two of the spaces og the throne? And what effect will that have?

I believe, per current rules for large monsters and terrain, this monster could choose to be "elevated" or not at the moment he ended his movement in that position. I would personally enforce that decision for all related questions until the monster's next turn, although there may be room to interpret it that he gets to choose every time the question of elevation gets raised between one turn and the next. The rules for large monsters and terrain are something of a mess right now.

Christen said:

It does not block line of sight so you can shoot through it. If a person is standing on top of it does he block line of sight then?

The throne does not block line of sight, but figures still do. A figure on top of a throne will continue to block line of sight for attacks (but not for spawning) just as it always would.

Steve-O said:

Christen said:

What about the if a monster is webed by a hero on gueard? Does he stop there or can he roll at once to get out of it?

I seem to recall a discussion about this (and other effect tokens) that concluded they wouldn't take effect until the beginning of the turn, so a monster webbed by a guard attack would continue moving and only become stuck the next time it was activated (assuming it didn't break free.) Now, keep in mind this was just fans discussing the rules, so it's nothing official. I don't know if there's been an official ruling on the subject yet, and if you wanted to say that it gets stuck mid-stride that's you call to make.

That original discussion was not conclusive. There has since been a relevent official ruling.
FAQ pg9
example: If a linger effect token such as Web is given out during a Guard order and the monster figure survives the attack, does the web token immediately take effect and therefor prevent the monster from spending movement ponits?
A: Other effects take place after wounds are dealt. In the example given, the lingering effect token wound immediately take effect.

The monster stops there - the token takes immediate effect.
Note that there is a subtle difference between tokens which have a 'continuous' effect and tokens which have a 'discrete' effect. A figure with Stun, Bleed, Burn etc tokens is stunned, bleeding, on fire etc, but those tokens only have actual effects at specific times. A figure with Web, Daze, Sleep etc tokens is webbed, dazed or sleepy, and those effects are continuously operating.
This is not spelled out explicitly anywhere, but is just the natural way things work if you follow the instructions for each token type accurately.

Steve-O said:

If you have a troll with the bash ability, can you choose not to use the skill, but still use the black dices? And what if you have something that gives him ekstra black dices another way, what happens on blanks?

You cannot claim power dice from the Bash skill without accepting all of the effects of the Bash skill. If you have power dice (or upgrades) from another source you can still use those without activating Bash (and therefore without risking the penalty upon rolling a blank.) However, if you claim any number of extra black dice from Bash you must accept the penalty on a blank.

The way the power is written, you could choose to use the ability without claiming any dice if you wanted to , and you would take the penalty while getting the surge benefit, but that's an option, not a requirement.

Bash is never optional, merely the number of dice/upgrades that you can get from the ability, ranging from 0 to 5.

This means in my opinion that any bonus dice from Doom!, Titan special ability o r the like that come up blank on a Troll attack result in a miss.

Parathion said:

Bash is never optional, merely the number of dice/upgrades that you can get from the ability, ranging from 0 to 5.

This means in my opinion that any bonus dice from Doom!, Titan special ability o r the like that come up blank on a Troll attack result in a miss.

The way the ability is worded (at least in the RtL book) makes it sound like it's optional to me. I'll admit there's room for interpretation though, and I don't particularly want to get into a hair-splitting arguement that requires us to define common words in the English language, so I'll just agree to disagree on that point.

I do agree, however, that if a Bash attack is being made, ALL power dice are susceptible to missing on a blank. To claim otherwise would require the player to keep track of "which dice came from Bash" and that seems like a much bigger headache than was likely intended.

Ok, I didn“t check the wording before my last post, but having done that, I have to change my mind, because "a figure never has to roll any power dice when making a Bash attack, regardless of other effects ."

So even a Doom! die can be omitted to avoid a blank miss result unless I misinterpret that last sentence.

Yet still, Bash is never optional, only Breath and Blast are, so if the troll rolls only red+yellow dice and has two surges the OL can still opt to use the ability "two surges: +5 dmg, pierce 2" - or he can still opt to not spend the surges at all.