Delaying an Action text - is this allowed?

By pauare67, in CoC Rules Discussion

Hello,

I have a question about activating an " Action " text in a card. I checked the forums for information regarding my predicament and I was unable to find anything similar to my inquiry.

Here's an example based on my question: Mature Deep One(Cthulu-character) Action : Pay 3 to choose and destroy an Attachment card.

Question: Am I allowed to put this card into play and delay the "action" written on the card until the right moment or am I required to immediately activate the "action" written on the card as soon as I put the card into play?

Another example: Hastur (Hastur- Character) Action : Pay 3 to choose a character. That character goes insane.

Question: Can I put this card into play and not activate the Action yet (even if I have 3 resources available); and then when the moment is right, say I want to put my opponent at a disadvantage, activate this Action ( by paying 3 resources ), assuming that this card has not been put out of play?

My wife and I had a long discussion about delaying an Action text and activating the Action text as soon you put the card into play. We're confused. LOL!

Thank you.

Paul

Actions can be taken in any action window (as long as you can pay the cost). Only Forced Responses have to happen at certain times (as described in their text).

So for your question(s), you can use the action (Mature Deep OneHastur or...) any time you are allowed to play an actionyou can pay the cost. not just when they come into play. In fact, some actions can be used multiple times in the phase (if you can pay for them).

Thank you The Professor for your reply. Everything is clear now.

By the way, I was being noseychecked your ORN Jazz signature. I see you love jazz. I'm a big jazz listener myself. I listen to Dexter Gordon, Roy Eldridge, Ben Webster, Art Tatum, Bud Powell, many others.

Anyway, thank you SO much for your reply.

Paul

Happy to help. This community helped me so many times I want to give back!

And checking out ORN is not being nosey! That's why I put it in my signature line cool.gif

That's me on piano/wind synth.

Oh this is question that I'm sure will hit me later on with a doubt. Since this game has so many action opportunities. If a card has a pay # action effect does that mean , in one action window instance you are allowed to cast the action ; then on a LATER action window are you allowed to recast the same action? assuming of course you have enough to pay for it.

With an example ancient guardian card : Action Pay 1 to choose and ready an exhausted character or support card you control. Lets say I decide to use this effect before resolving story struggles ( in the story phase) and I solve the action on the card; yet after the story struggle I wish to active the action again on the Ancient Guardian card , is that possible? ( Given I have enough resources and domains to pay for it.)

Zealotscout said:

Oh this is question that I'm sure will hit me later on with a doubt. Since this game has so many action opportunities. If a card has a pay # action effect does that mean , in one action window instance you are allowed to cast the action ; then on a LATER action window are you allowed to recast the same action? assuming of course you have enough to pay for it.

With an example ancient guardian card : Action Pay 1 to choose and ready an exhausted character or support card you control. Lets say I decide to use this effect before resolving story struggles ( in the story phase) and I solve the action on the card; yet after the story struggle I wish to active the action again on the Ancient Guardian card , is that possible? ( Given I have enough resources and domains to pay for it.)

Yes. THere is no limit on the number of time you can use an Action except that you must be able to make the payment. Unless of course the card says it is limited to once a turn or something.