Spell Combination: Marked for Glory and Freeze

By The_Warlock, in Talisman Rules Questions

Q: A Character casts Marked for Glory before rolling the die for combat against another Character. The opponent casts Freeze. Is Marked for Glory bonus forfeit, since the first Character cannot roll the die anymore?

There is a strange timing issue here, originated by the difference between "cast when you're about to roll a die" and "cast when you're about to engage in battle". If I cast Marked for Glory first does it mean that we're after the "about to engage" phase? Any thoughts?

The_Warlock said:

Q: A Character casts Marked for Glory before rolling the die for combat against another Character. The opponent casts Freeze. Is Marked for Glory bonus forfeit, since the first Character cannot roll the die anymore?

There is a strange timing issue here, originated by the difference between "cast when you're about to roll a die""cast when you're about to engage in battle". If I cast Marked for Glory first does it mean that we're after the "about to engage" phase? Any thoughts?

If you cast Marked for Glory, your opponent cannot cast Freeze on you. Marked for Glory is already in effect, therefore the Freeze Spell cannot override it!

Ell.