Shutting down the Rune Gate

By rimmer3, in Talisman Rules Questions

The Monk drew a Rune Gate. ( On your next turn, instead of your normal move, you may teleport to any other faceup Rune Gate or any Runes space. Once the Rune Gate has been used, it vanishes to the discard pile.) He claimed he wanted to use it.

Then the Philosopher came onto the very same space and discard the Runegate (Whenever the Philosopher land on faceup Adventure Cards, he may discard one card of his choice that he does not wish to encounter and draw another card to replace it, which he must encounter.) and he said to the Monk : "You can't use your Rune Gate now. It's no more."

Was he right?

Rimmer said:

The Monk drew a Rune Gate. ( On your next turn, instead of your normal move, you may teleport to any other faceup Rune Gate or any Runes space. Once the Rune Gate has been used, it vanishes to the discard pile.) He claimed he wanted to use it.

Then the Philosopher came on the very same space and discard the Runegate (Whenever the Philosopher land on faceup Adventure Cards, he may discard one card of his choice that he does not wish to encounter and draw another card to replace it, which he must encounter.) and he said to the Monk : "You can't use your Rune Gate now. It's no more."

Was he right?

Yes he was. The Rune Gate can no longer be used if it is discarded or moved by the Displacement Spell!

Ell.

Thank you for your clarification, Ell!

talismanamsilat said:

Rimmer said:

The Monk drew a Rune Gate. ( On your next turn, instead of your normal move, you may teleport to any other faceup Rune Gate or any Runes space. Once the Rune Gate has been used, it vanishes to the discard pile.) He claimed he wanted to use it.

Then the Philosopher came on the very same space and discard the Runegate (Whenever the Philosopher land on faceup Adventure Cards, he may discard one card of his choice that he does not wish to encounter and draw another card to replace it, which he must encounter.) and he said to the Monk : "You can't use your Rune Gate now. It's no more."

Was he right?

Yes he was. The Rune Gate can no longer be used if it is discarded or moved by the Displacement Spell!

Ell.

Does the Monk have to declare that he's using the Rune Gate on his next turn? I've always played that when you land on it you get the chance to use it on the next turn, but only in that turn you decide to take advantage or not from it (same for Pathfinder and similars). Am I right?

The_Warlock said:

Does the Monk have to declare that he's using the Rune Gate on his next turn? I've always played that when you land on it you get the chance to use it on the next turn, but only in that turn you decide to take advantage or not from it (same for Pathfinder and similars). Am I right?

I houseruled that you must declare these -on next turn- things. I don't think offical rules say a word about it.