"Choose a character..." text- who gets chosen?

By pauare67, in CoC Rules Discussion

Hello

I am reposting this here as this is the correct area to post this question. I mistakenly posted this question under Deck Construction. I was not paying attention to the forum board's current location. I apologize for doubling posting. Thank you.

My wife and I are new to CoC LCG or any CCGs . We are mainly boardgamers. My wife and I have been playtesting the game for several weeks now. We are a bit stuck and hopefully the community can help us. I've done a search of this topic before I posted this topic and although I've seen quite a number of discussions related to taking action, we are still a bit lost on the cards that say "Choose a character..." or "Wound a character"

Here's an example:

T-Men (Agency-Core set) :Forced Response: After T-Men enters play, choose and wound a character.

Question: Does the owner/controller of the card (aka the one who puts this card in play), chooses one of his own characters and wounds it OR can he choose one of the opponent's character's and wounds it?

I know it's silly to actually wound your own character but just a point of discussion I'd like to clarify. I know there are cards that say "Choose an opponent's card...", but we're a bit stuck when the card only says "Choose a character.." and sometimes the cards do affect the controller of the card negatively. I guess what we're trying to figure out is how to determine who gets affected by a response/action. I know there are a hundreds of permutations depending on what each card says (core set and APs).

Our "house rule" so to speak is that if it doesn't say "Choose an opponent", that means it affects either the controller/owner of the card or the opponent, depending on what "effects" the card is executing.

In a nutshell: how do you determine who gets affected (you or the opponent) when you see a text that says "Choose a character" or "Wound a Character?

I apologize for drawing out this question into a long speech. As I've said, wife and I are new to this game.

Thank you for your understanding.

Paul

I answered this in "General" as I saw it there first.

The player of the card does the choosing. And if it is not restricted to "an opponent's card" or the like, you have no restrictions. Choose a character (in play). Could be yours, could be one of your opponents'.

I was going to also add "Please post this in Rules" but you did, so I won't!

Thank you SO muc for your reply. Very clear! happy.gif Ok time to play again tonight.

Regards,

Paul

The cards are usually pretty good about naming any restrictions that must be considered... but not always (I'm looking at you Rich Widow).