"Choose a character" text in a card- who gets chosen?

By pauare67, in Call of Cthulhu Deck Construction

Hello

My wife and I are new to CoC LCG or any CCGs . We are mainly boardgamers. My wife and I have been playtesting the game for several weeks now. We are a bit stuck and hopefully the community can help us. I've done a search of this topic before I posted this topic and although I've seen quite a number of discussions related to taking action, we are still a bit lost on the cards that say "Choose a character..." or "Wound a character"

Here's an example:

T-Men (Agency-Core set) :Forced Response: After T-Men enters play, choose and wound a character.

Question: Does the owner/controller of the card (aka the one who puts this card in play), chooses one of his own characters and wounds it OR can he choose one of the opponent's character's and wounds it?

I know it's silly to actually wound your own character but just a point of discussion I'd like to clarify. I know there are cards that say "Choose an opponent's card...", but we're a bit stuck when the card only says "Choose a character.." and sometimes the cards do affect the controller of the card negatively. I guess what we're trying to figure out is how to determine who gets affected by a response/action. I know there are a hundreds of permutations depending on what each card says (core set and APs).

Our "house rule" so to speak is that if it doesn't say "Choose an opponent", that means it affects either the controller/owner of the card or the opponent, depending on what "effects" the card is executing.

In a nutshell: how do you determine who gets affected (you or the opponent) when you see a text that says "Choose a character" or "Wound a Character?

I apologize for drawing out this question into a long speech. As I've said, wife and I are new to this game.

Thank you for your understanding.

Paul

I think you understand it well. "Choose a character" means "Choose ANY character..." could be yours, could be opponent's. Maybe you want to wound your own character because such a wound triggers some kind of response that benefits you. Maybe you want to wound an opponent's character because you want it gone from play. Your call.

Oh, and I forgot the other part. When you play a card, think of the text as talking to you. So "Choose a character" means "You, the player of this card, choose a character..."

Also note that the forced response means you have to choose one of your own characters if there are none of your opponents to pick.

Good point. And sometimes things will happen where you have to choose the very card that you played! (If there were no other characters in play and you brought in T-Men, you would have to wound T-Men).