Khal Drogo (Core)/Fortified Position

By phoenixember, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Quick question...if I put the core set Khal Drogo into play using his response for playing him free after winning a challenge, and Fortified Position is in play currently blanking his text box, does he still return to my hand at the end of the phase? My feeling is yes he does, because the returning to hand at the end of the phase is part of the initial response that puts him into play, so the condition is hanging over him before his text box is ever blanked. Thanks in advance for the help.

phoenixember said:

My feeling is yes he does

Correct.

If Fortified Position is in play you can put Khal Drogo CS (or Catelyn LOW) in play from hand? I thought no, but maybe I was wrong.

Gualdo said:

If Fortified Position is in play you can put Khal Drogo CS (or Catelyn LOW) in play from hand? I thought no, but maybe I was wrong.

Fortified Position can only affect characters in play. Khal Drogo or Catelyn's abilities are triggered while they are out of play - more specifically, in your hand -, because their abilities allow you to do so.

Said another way, if Fortified Position is the plot and you have 3 House Tully characters in play (doesn't blank traits), could you play Edmure's Host from your hand for 3 instead of the printed 6? Of course, because the text on the Army is "used" from your hand, not from play. And Fortified Position only blanks character text boxes while they are in play.

Same concept for Khal Drogo, Catelyn or, for that matter, any character with Ambush.

thx, this change a lot the situation :-)