Temple Trouble

By lonely_writer, in Talisman Rules Questions

Okay...so here is the situation that came up over the weekend.

The dark cultist has the warlock quest to pray at the temple. After much cursing and unlucky dice rolling she managed to make it there and pray.

Unfortunately the gods were not with her and she became enslaved.

Now the question is - does she stay there enslaved until she rolls a 4,5 or 6 and then teleport to the Warlocks Cave Or is the quest complete and she immediately teleports to the Warlocks Cave? And if so, is she enslaved in the warlocks cave until she rolls a 4,5 or 6?

Oh...and in case anyone was wondering - the dark cultist won.

The priest in the nex t game...no so lucky.

lonely_writer said:

Okay...so here is the situation that came up over the weekend.

The dark cultist has the warlock quest to pray at the temple. After much cursing and unlucky dice rolling she managed to make it there and pray.

Unfortunately the gods were not with her and she became enslaved.

Now the question is - does she stay there enslaved until she rolls a 4,5 or 6 and then teleport to the Warlocks Cave Or is the quest complete and she immediately teleports to the Warlocks Cave? And if so, is she enslaved in the warlocks cave until she rolls a 4,5 or 6?

Oh...and in case anyone was wondering - the dark cultist won.

The priest in the nex t game...no so lucky.

You are immediately teleported to the Warlock's Cave and receive a Talisman or Quest Reward. The Warlock overrides the effect of the Temple, so the Dark Cultist would not be enslaved as she still completed her Warlock Quest (not enslaved at the Warlock's Cave either).

Ell.

(This question was discussed with John Goodenough during the playtest phase of the core game.)

Thanks for the clarification.

We played it wrong.

Just look at it this way instead:

The Dark Cultist gets enslaved at the Temple, but the Warlock immediately breaks her free from the enslavement and teleports the Dark Cultist to his cave to give her a reward for completing his quest!

Ell.

So this means that if another result where the cultist would have gained something like life, spell etc. She would have been teleported to the Warlock, and not got anything?

So the dice-rolls are unimportant when praying to complete the quest, just get there and say you pray.

Draii said:

So this means that if another result where the cultist would have gained something like life, spell etc. She would have been teleported to the Warlock, and not got anything?

So the dice-rolls are unimportant when praying to complete the quest, just get there and say you pray.

No it does not mean that. You still get whatever you roll, but if you become enslaved the Warlock immediately frees you from the enslavement, as you completed your quest!

Ell.

Though I say this with no authority, in this situation I'd have the Dark Cultist teleport to the Warlocks Cave upon praying, but upon receiving his reward he'd become enslaved, as though he were still in the temple (or had encountered an adventure card with similar rules) and would have to make the appropriate dice roll to resume.

As far as I can tell, there is no literature or specification that the Warlock will release you from your slavery, only that he will teleport you.

Of course this is debatable... Being enslaved implies slavers, who would likely not be teleported with you by the warlock, so by being teleported away from the slavers you are effectively freed.

Bah! This is certainly an ambiguous situation. My suggestion is you decide on either option, then stick with it. Call it a house rule, or whatever, just keep it consistent!