Descent Questions

By player199375, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Several Questions

1. Do familiars get to run like players do. My interpretation of the rules is since they are not a character they do not get the special rules that characters get.

2.The following situation occured in play last night. I have the Treachery Card "Crushing Blow". I made a successful attack and decided to use the card "Crushing Blow" after this the player played the card, "Evade" causing me to miss. The question is since "Evade" made the attack a miss does it then also mean that the attack became unsuccessful allowing me to retain the card "Crushing Blow" since technically I had already played it. My thinking was that i retained the card for future use because the attack became unsuccessful do to the play of the "Evade Card".

3. Treachery question. We are playing a campaign. I spent my XP on 2 Treachery points. Are those points permanently available for the rest of the campaign or are they used up when i purchase a treachery card for a dungeon or outdoor ecounter. I ask because we went through both a dungeon and outdoor encounter in which I used my two Treachery points for each encounter.

1. Do familiars get to run like players do. My interpretation of the rules is since they are not a character they do not get the special rules that characters get.

You are correct. Familiars do not declare actions, so cannot run.

2.The following situation occured in play last night. I have the Treachery Card "Crushing Blow". I made a successful attack and decided to use the card "Crushing Blow" after this the player played the card, "Evade" causing me to miss. The question is since "Evade" made the attack a miss does it then also mean that the attack became unsuccessful allowing me to retain the card "Crushing Blow" since technically I had already played it. My thinking was that i retained the card for future use because the attack became unsuccessful do to the play of the "Evade Card".

There's a lot of talk about crushing blow vs. evade/block. I'll let wiser heads field this one. :)

3. Treachery question. We are playing a campaign. I spent my XP on 2 Treachery points. Are those points permanently available for the rest of the campaign or are they used up when i purchase a treachery card for a dungeon or outdoor ecounter. I ask because we went through both a dungeon and outdoor encounter in which I used my two Treachery points for each encounter.

Yes, treachery upgrades last forever. However, there are two things that may or may not apply here: 1) per the FAQ/errata you cannnot buy treachery with starting XP and 2) treachery is not available in all outdoor encounters, only lieutenant ones.

cpbsmw said:

1. Do familiars get to run like players do. My interpretation of the rules is since they are not a character they do not get the special rules that characters get.

They do not. Familiars (and Animal Companions) are not figures, and certianly not heroes. They each have a listed Speed value and that's the maximum distance they can move each turn. In general, they can't do anything other than move unless their special rules say otherwise (of course, each familiar will have at least ONE thing they can do, otherwise they'd be useless.)

cpbsmw said:

2.The following situation occured in play last night. I have the Treachery Card "Crushing Blow". I made a successful attack and decided to use the card "Crushing Blow" after this the player played the card, "Evade" causing me to miss. The question is since "Evade" made the attack a miss does it then also mean that the attack became unsuccessful allowing me to retain the card "Crushing Blow" since technically I had already played it. My thinking was that i retained the card for future use because the attack became unsuccessful do to the play of the "Evade Card".

As James mentioned, this is an issue of some debate currently.

I believe the general consensus is that the player whose turn it is resolves his card first which, in the case of Crushing Blow anyway, means that the OL will almost always take priority and thus CB will go off. A polite OL might take a moment ot ask: "my attack has hit, would anyone like to respond?" But even that's technically not required. Since both cards trigger on the same circumstance (a successful attack) they both get played at once.

If one of your monsters were somehow to make an attack during a hero turn, then the Evade card would take priority, and Crushing Blow would either go back to your hand or fizzle (not quite sure where popular opinion lands on that one, but it would be a rare occurance anyway.) I would say if you feel like the CB should go back into your hand, then certainly the Evade should go back to the hero's hand in the more common situation that it's the OL turn, and vice versa.

cpbsmw said:

3. Treachery question. We are playing a campaign. I spent my XP on 2 Treachery points. Are those points permanently available for the rest of the campaign or are they used up when i purchase a treachery card for a dungeon or outdoor ecounter. I ask because we went through both a dungeon and outdoor encounter in which I used my two Treachery points for each encounter.

You keep the treachery points and may re-spend them (on the same or different cards) each dungeon. James's points are both valid though; you don't get them on an outdoor encounter unless there's an LT present.