Monkey and glyph

By gran_orco, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

According to the rules, a monkey cannot do any movement actions, so a monkey can't use a glyph to go to town.

Ok, the FAQ says that a monkey can enter a portal in RTL. However, the hero remains a monkey for the same length of time .

If the monkey leaves the level before his friends, is he spending turns while the other heroes are in the level? Or is the monkey "removed" from the game totally? For example, If the party stay at the level 2 more turns, should the monkey start next level normally, or should he count turns from the start of the next level?

Do you understand me?

gran_orco said:

According to the rules, a monkey cannot do any movement actions, so a monkey can't use a glyph to go to town.

Ok, the FAQ says that a monkey can enter a portal in RTL. However, the hero remains a monkey for the same length of time .

If the monkey leaves the level before his friends, is he spending turns while the other heroes are in the level? Or is the monkey "removed" from the game totally? For example, If the party stay at the level 2 more turns, should the monkey start next level normally, or should he count turns from the start of the next level?

Do you understand me?

A hero in a portal does not get turns.

Once a hero steps onto the portal map piece, he is removed from the board and becomes invulnerable to harm.
The hero is not placed anywhere else (like town etc) and so is temporarily not part of the game at all.

Therefore, the monkey-hero does not remove wound tokens at the end of his turns and so is not 'counting time' as a monkey while in the portal.

so the monkey remains a monkey for the same length of time (in terms of how many of that hero's turns, but not in terms of the rest of the party).

Ok. The monkey cannot use a glyph, can he?

gran_orco said:

Ok. The monkey cannot use a glyph, can he?

The monkey CAN use a glyph, because the FAQ says so. The monkey can also use a portal in AC dungeons because, unless I'm very much mistaken, tha tisn't a movement action. You step on the portal, you get teleported.

Care to give us a quotation, Steve-O ?

Monkeys cannot use a glpyh in the base game, but whether they can in an AC has not been clarified, has it?

Parathion said:

Care to give us a quotation, Steve-O ?

Monkeys cannot use a glpyh in the base game, but whether they can in an AC has not been clarified, has it?

i think Steve-O is confused.

The monket cannot use a glyph in vanilla, as that is a Movement Action.
The monkey can use a portal in ACs - it is not a movement action and the FAQ implicitly allows monkeys to use portals.
It is not actually clear whether a monkey can use a glyph in ACs. It isn't entirely clear whether glyph use is still a movement action in ACs. I would judge that it is (and therefore a monkey cannot use a glyph) because glyph rules returning from town are more or less unchanged and still a movement action - which argues that although the glyph rules to town are radically changed, it probably remains a movement action.

Corbon said:

It is not actually clear whether a monkey can use a glyph in ACs. It isn't entirely clear whether glyph use is still a movement action in ACs.

Is there any question about this in the future faq? I think that Corbon is right, but it could be useful if we had an aswer.

gran_orco said:

Corbon said:

It is not actually clear whether a monkey can use a glyph in ACs. It isn't entirely clear whether glyph use is still a movement action in ACs.

Is there any question about this in the future faq? I think that Corbon is right, but it could be useful if we had an aswer.

I personally am well satisfied that it is still a movement action and therefore a monkey cannot return to town using a glyph. It simply doesn't make sense that a monkey can glyph one way and not the other, and there is nothing to say that it is not a Movement action anymore. There is a limit to how much really needs to be clarified...

It is true... The rule is pretty clear. It was only a text modification: clarify that a monkey could enter a portal, but not a glyph.

Some time ago our group debated this, and decided to allow the monkey to glyph back to town(not consider it movement action). As a result the trapcard has been less used. It cost too much to play compared to the expected gain. Taking out a hero for 2 turns is nice, but it has been too easy for the monkey to escape as we have played it(personal consideration). Guess we`ll reconsider our houserule due to the information Corbon has provided, thanks.

Corbon said:

gran_orco said:

Corbon said:

It is not actually clear whether a monkey can use a glyph in ACs. It isn't entirely clear whether glyph use is still a movement action in ACs.

Is there any question about this in the future faq? I think that Corbon is right, but it could be useful if we had an aswer.

I personally am well satisfied that it is still a movement action and therefore a monkey cannot return to town using a glyph. It simply doesn't make sense that a monkey can glyph one way and not the other, and there is nothing to say that it is not a Movement action anymore. There is a limit to how much really needs to be clarified...

Really? FAQ pg 15 says,

"A hero who begins his turn adjacent to or on top of an activated glyph has two options: take a normal turn or go to town . If he goes to town, he is immediately moved to the building of his choice and gets to Restock there. No movement points, no declared action - he just Restocks. "

It seems clear that by the rules a monkey in RtL can go to town. I highly doubt they meant for that to happen though. It looks like an unintended side effect of the change to how going to town works in the advanced campaigns.

duhtch said:

Corbon said:

gran_orco said:

Corbon said:

It is not actually clear whether a monkey can use a glyph in ACs. It isn't entirely clear whether glyph use is still a movement action in ACs.

Is there any question about this in the future faq? I think that Corbon is right, but it could be useful if we had an aswer.

I personally am well satisfied that it is still a movement action and therefore a monkey cannot return to town using a glyph. It simply doesn't make sense that a monkey can glyph one way and not the other, and there is nothing to say that it is not a Movement action anymore. There is a limit to how much really needs to be clarified...

Really? FAQ pg 15 says,

"A hero who begins his turn adjacent to or on top of an activated glyph has two options: take a normal turn or go to town . If he goes to town, he is immediately moved to the building of his choice and gets to Restock there. No movement points, no declared action - he just Restocks. "

What part of that says that it is not (still) a Movement Action to use the glyph (just a different Movement Action)?

It no longer requires MP. Tick
There is no declared Action. Tick

We simply have no mention of it being a movement action, or ceasing to be a movement action.
It used to be a movement action costing 1MP. Now it is something different - but nothing to say it is not a something different movement action. And it is still the same the other way, still a movement action to use a glyph from town.

It seems to me that the whole point of it is as a hero hinderance, and one time use only, either monkey card, hero or group, and if the Overlord gets to draw it that dungeon. As well the hero's already get a chance to avoid the spell with a power die roll. I don't see why it's hard to understand that it continues to be a hero hinderance after it has been played, forcing the other hero's to protect the one transformed, or to flee as much as they can to avoid death till it wears off. Having a hero run to town negates about 90% of the effectiveness of it as a trap card so I can see why no glyph movement to town would be allowed. A player so transformed should just do the best they can in the circumstance with what they have. I am glad to know that turns for a player in the portal space end till they reappear in this case, I figured that would be how to work it. Glad this was brought up, answered alot of my personal doubts.