I read today one interesting question rule, and I think that is not right. It is about card Swordmasters of Hoeth.
Becouse if they are declared as defenders they will protect only ammount of damage equal to they hit-point rating. Like when you play action card that can cancel damage. You play this card in timing after the damage is assigned. You can't move damage after is assigned, but you can cancel that damage.
Example: My battlefield is defended only by Swordmasters of Hoeth. 3 hit-points. Enemy has total power of 5 then assign 3 hits to Swordmasters and rest to the Battlefield which is defended by them (2 damage). Then damage on Swordmasters is canceled thru their effect.
It is described in rules on pages (12-13) 4. assign damage and 5. apply damage.
What do you think?