Called shot clarification

By Umbranus, in Dark Heresy

I noticed that doing a called shot seems to be different in the 40k games.
What I'm wondering is whether it is intentionally or an oversight.

In DH called shot doesn't mention that it needs a special kind of action, just that it's at -20 and can't be semi- or full-automatic. So single shot only.

In DW and RT called shot is a full action, it's -20 but there is nothing said about semi- or full-auto called shots.

So would you sai that both allies, it can only be a single shot and it's a full action or is the called shot really different ind the games?

And if a ranged attacker can only do single shot on called shots, can a melee attacker still use lightning attack called shots?

My interpretation was that it's a half action and it is single shot or single attack only.

The rules in DH says that you cannot use semi or full out and still benefit from any aim action. I would say that called shot is such an action. Single shot is a half action and if nothing is specified in how long called shot takes I would call it a free action with -20.

That is how i look at it.

matze said:

The rules in DH says that you cannot use semi or full out and still benefit from any aim action. I would say that called shot is such an action. Single shot is a half action and if nothing is specified in how long called shot takes I would call it a free action with -20.

That is how i look at it.

I didn't mean a half action in addition to the action needed to actually shoot. Your phrasing is probably more clear. You're making a single shot attack and then decide that it's a called shot. You take a penalty and if you succeed, congrats! You hit that area. Very DnD 3.5 style.

Although, it has also been argued that for smaller target additional penalties can be levied.

Umbranus said:

So would you sai that both allies, it can only be a single shot and it's a full action or is the called shot really different ind the games?

And if a ranged attacker can only do single shot on called shots, can a melee attacker still use lightning attack called shots?

Your reading of the rules is correct. Our group runs DH rules as written- called shots don't take any additional action, but can only be done by single shots. We never really encountered the melee attack issue (not sure how we didn't) but I'd have ruled it (for better or worse) that in melee lighting attack can be combined with called shots.

As for DW, we run it rules as written but we only allow single shots (this was essentially an oversight by us, as we read the action portion from DW, but we remembered the single shot only rule from DW).

Not sure why they changed it in RT and DW personally, in most cases you're not getting that much of an advantage with a called shot, at least in my expereince.

I've always played it in DH as it says in the rules, that is no extra action required. It's simply a circumstance (like firing in fog), and if you're good enough you can hit a head or whatever without having to spend extra time aiming.

PS there is no called shot in D&D 3.5 ...

And at the last, there is no rule saying you can't benefit from aim actions when firing SA or FA, it's just that people don't have enough actions to spare to use aim. Also, like all aiming if you do anything else before the attack (such as a dodge), the aim is lost.

Called shots cannot be used with SA or FA fire, but there are no other limitations in DH. thus you could Call shot each strike on a Lightening attack, or with twp pistols and TW-talent.

Friend of the Dork said:

PS there is no called shot in D&D 3.5 ...

Am I thinking 3E? -4 to hit?

I think it was in 3.0, but removed from 3.5.

Wait. Where does it say you can't Aim and Semi/Full-auto?

Probably from people not realizing you can aim in round one and fire in round two.

Oh, right. I was worried for a second.

Letrii said:

Probably from people not realizing you can aim in round one and fire in round two.

If you don't do anything else inbetween. Like parry or dodge.