Yog Sothoth ability w/ a card that attaches. Does it return to bottom of deck?

By Jeff Lewis, in CoC Rules Discussion

If I pay 2 to trigger Yog's ability and target a spell event card in my discard pile that then says: attach to a character does it still return to the bottom of my deck as stated on Yog or does it stay in play?

How very interesting...

I'm going to hesitantly say yes. You'll resolve Yog's ability, pick the card and fully resolve it. The "Then" clause of Yog now kicks in, and you put it on the bottom.

I'm definitely open to alternate interpretation on this one.

But, when the mnohmquath's serpent is attached to a character, the card isn't a spell event card anymore, right? :D

B_P said:

But, when the mnohmquath's serpent is attached to a character, the card isn't a spell event card anymore, right? :D

That's the exact card that brought this question to mind. In response to what you said though it may not be a spell event card anymore but it is still "that" card which is what gets put on the bottom of your deck. ??? I don't know.

KallistiBRC said:

I'm going to hesitantly say yes. You'll resolve Yog's ability, pick the card and fully resolve it. The "Then" clause of Yog now kicks in, and you put it on the bottom.

If the wording were instead "Then, place that Spell on the bottom of your deck" then I believe the Serpent would then stay because, hey, it's no longer considered to be a spell afterwards. As it stands, I unfortunately agree with the general consensus.