Monster movement question

By Nghtflame7, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

I had an interesting encounter situation that mandated monster movement, and I am not sure how to resolve it.

In KH, there is a 7th house on the left encounter which states: ..."before yuo can get too far, however, a monster attacks you! The nearest monster moves here and encounters you." There are currently two monsters on the board. One, the closest, is a Colour Out of Space. The other is a Dimensional Shambler. Since Color's movement says instead of moving, roll and lose sanity on a 4-6, my question is:

Does the Color move to me, or do I make the sanity roll? Or do I move the Shambler instead?

Complicating the question is that there are currently investigators on the spaces with each of the monsters, and p.11 says that a monster that already shares a location with an investigator does not move and remains in place. So regardless of part one of the question, do the investigators in the monsters' locations preclude both monsters from moving?

"Moves here" in this case is just artistic license. Just relocate the CooS piece over to your spot and deal with it as though you had drawn it at random from "A monster appears!" But unlike regular "monster appears" encounters, if you flee/evade it or it defeats you, it stays there instead of returning to its original space or to the cup.

Furthermore, ColtsFan seems to think that when a Hound of Tindalos moves, the board it is currently on takes precedence before boards it is not on. If that is the case:

I.E, if there was a Color out of Space 3 spaces away in Kingsport with you, and there was a Dimensional Shambler two spaces away from you on the Train Station in Arkham (counting the Train station movement), the CooS would move to you instead of the Shambler.

Tibs said:

Furthermore, ColtsFan seems to think that when a Hound of Tindalos moves, the board it is currently on takes precedence before boards it is not on. If that is the case:

More than just a thought, it is a clarification of Kevin's on the old boards. I actually thought the opposite and was corrected on this point recently.

Well understand that "ColtsFan seems to think" translates to "I am surprised by that ruling and don't wish to look it up myself; I will believe ColtsFan's interpretation wholeheartedly."

It is a good rule to know indeed.

Thanks guys. In this case, the monsters were bothin Arkham, and the investigator that got the encounter was in Kingsport. I played that the monsters didn't move at all because they were already in spaces with investigators, but next time it happens, I'll know to just relocate the CooS.

As always, its a pleasure discussing the finer points of AH with you folks!