The thief

By Fussypants, in Talisman Rules Questions

When you land on another character you may take an object of your choice.

So my gf was playing the thief and she lands on my character. She can take what she wants. Now does she have the choice to encounter the space or my guy now? Or is this considered an encounter?

We played that she could now choose. (i am begining to really dislike playing against the thief)

What's your take on this very powerful ability?

When you land on a square you must decide either to encounter the space or any characters in the square, if you decide to encounter a character you can either attack him or use an ability (only one). Note that this could be beneficial if for example you land on the desert, attacking a character there will prevent you from losing a life in the desert.

Thanks.

I kind of feel embarrassed.

I herby promise to re-read the rules before I post any questions again.

I believe thief's case is a bit complicated, thought the card says "land on", he still has to encounter the character he wants to steal from, thus he can be evaded.

If you are in the desert, you always loose 1 life if don't have something "drinkable". (bottle, holy graal, etc...)

If you fight a carachter, fight it in the desert and you need to drink...

crazyaxe said:

If you are in the desert, you always loose 1 life if don't have something "drinkable". (bottle, holy graal, etc...)

If you fight a carachter, fight it in the desert and you need to drink...

No, when you fight another Character in Desert, you don't lose a Life. That's a rule from FAQ.