Timing of 'discard' / No reinforcements ruling in FAQ 1.0

By droesler, in Tannhauser

Does anyone know of any ruling on the timing of 'discard' for items such as Eva Kramer's medals?

If it is possible to discard her medal outside of her activation, then it would be possible

to buy a 3 CP reinforcement and this would contradict the ruling in the 1.0 FAQ.

A: Reinforcements are introduced at the start of a turn,
before any characters are activated. In a 2 Command
Point game, there is not currently a way to introduce
reinforcements using Command Points.

Nevermind - I found this example in the 'use equipment' part of the actions description -

Example: As the active character, Eva Krämer‘s owner
wishes to “use” her Iron Cross First Class token. She reads
what to perform when the item is used, in this case her team
would gain two additional Command Points. She decides to
carry out that action, by placing two more Command Points
on her side.

The strange thing is that the description for Iron Cross is lacking the 'as an action' bit of text

that you find in other items like her first aid kit.

We never played it the way that using an item to gain CPs needs an action. I am not sure if this is right, though...

It's sad but true... when you use an equipement to gain CPs, you must spend an action.

Hm, ok. I´ll use this rule "update" in my next match. Thanks!

Guys your confusing ACTIVATION with ACTION.

Eva must discard her IRON CROSS during her ACTIVATION (turn), but it DOES NOT require an ACTION.

So she may discard either Iron Cross token and perform an Action, during a single Activation.

This is how I'll play untill FFG says otherwise.

I'm going to clairify my Eva blog post when I have some time.

Thanks for the clarification. So I played according to the rules after all cool.gif

Miah is right as usual, indeed Andrew Meredith said:


“This would be based on the actual object being referenced. For instance, a First Aid Kit specifies "as an action" while Eva's two Iron Crosses simply state: Discard this token to add +1 or +2.
This would need to be done during her Activation, but unless the equipment piece specifies, it does not require an "Action."
Thanks for the question!
-Andrew”

And I add: thank you Miah too!