Can I control my own troops with patmos amulet?

By player2211333, in Tannhauser

I have some doubts about patmos amulet:

1 Can I use it against someone that has already been activated?

2 Can I use it against my own troops?

If 1 and 2 answers are yes, then:

3 Can I use it to make an "extra" attack with my own troops?

4 What happends if the target is on overwatch, does he loose this status?

5 Finally, can I use it agaist one of my troops on overwatch, to make he move to a better overwath position?

You said:

I have some doubts about patmos amulet:


1 Can I use it against someone that has already been activated?
Yes.


2 Can I use it against my own troops?
Yes. After re-reading of the rules, they do not say the target character has to be of an opposing faction.


If 1 and 2 answers are yes, then:
3 Can I use it to make an "extra" attack with my own troops?
Yes. But this attack must be after the characters regular turn because of the wording on the Amulet.


4 What happens if the target is on overwatch, does he loose this status?
Yes, the target looses overwatch, because making an attack removes the overwatch status. This is the answer I am least sure of.


5 Finally, can I use it against one of my troops on overwatch, to make he move to a better overwatch position?
No, because moving is an action.

docsavagepu8-2.png

Doc Savage said:

4 What happens if the target is on overwatch, does he loose this status?

Yes, the target looses overwatch, because making an attack removes the overwatch status. This is the answer I am least sure of.


5 Finally, can I use it against one of my troops on overwatch, to make he move to a better overwatch position?
No, because moving is an action.

@4 I'd disagree after looking at the rules:

"When a character launches an overwatch attack , the token beneath his miniature is removed from the board. The
character is no longer considered to be on overwatch."

Since ' attack ' ≠ ' overwatch attack' the status wouldn't be lost. (An overwatch attack is only made in response to the opposing player's trigger.)

@5

I would also think it is legit since the forced activity caused by the amulet does not count as an ' activation ', it just removes the chance of making a later activation with that character in a turn. Although regarding 'move to a better overwatch position' , you are still limited to moving away from Hermann and you must move the maximum possible distance according to his/her movement points.

well since Patmos Amulet only says they cannot be activated and the rules only give 2 ways of losing OW status - launching OW Attack or end of turn - we're playing as OW status remains until end of turn until otherwise stated in a FAQ. It can be argued then that there is no reason to lose OW status until normal refresh because:

1. target of Patmos Amulet never launched an OW Attack

2. Pat mos Amulet only says character can't be activated - this was already the case when character was placed on Overwatch so nothing changes there.