Ran into an interesting situation while playing my last game, couldn't decide on how to rule on it and was hoping you guys could weigh in on it. I had out 2 Bringer of Fire cards (Action: Exhaust all copies of Bringer of Fire you control to choose and destroy a character with skill 4 or lower. Use this ability only if you control more than 1 card named Bringer of Fire) and was exhausting both each round to destroy one of my wife's characters. On her turn, she played a Cryptic Writings (Attach to a non-Ancient One character. Attached character cannot trigger its effects.) on one of my Bringer of Fire cards. Now, we couldn't decide if this then negated the Action ability of these cards...
I argued that exhausting the one Bringer of Fire without the Cryptic Writings would use his action, and exhausting the other Bringer of Fire card (the one with Crytpic Writings attached) was a byproduct of that action, and thus the action was still usable. But somehow that also didn't seem right. I ruled on the safe side and let it negate the actions, but to be honest, this was a game changing situation. (Ultimately I lost against her waves of Shub ghouls and Mi Gos).
What do you guys say?
Now I'm tormenting her with You Know Too Much, and still with Descendants!