Hi guys,
Quick question: How often can the Barony of Letnev's ability to pay trade goods to improve their chances at winning fights be used? Once upgraded with their race technology it seems a bit brutal if all the time!
Hi guys,
Quick question: How often can the Barony of Letnev's ability to pay trade goods to improve their chances at winning fights be used? Once upgraded with their race technology it seems a bit brutal if all the time!
El Mariachi said:
Hi guys,
Quick question: How often can the Barony of Letnev's ability to pay trade goods to improve their chances at winning fights be used? Once upgraded with their race technology it seems a bit brutal if all the time!
Every round of combat. That's why it costs 6 resources which is a LOT.
Have played Letnev 4 or 5 times by now and have never bought their racial tech. XRD transporters and Cybernetics is all they actually need.
I use their special during space battles only since ground battles are not a problem when you got some dreadnoughts
Got 2 questions:
1) Having Sarween Tools and 3 docks in one system will give me 3 additional "free" resources when producing ships in that system?
If yes:
a) Can i build ships only for these resources without exhausting any planets?
b) Can i build 1 carrier with those 3 resources or should i build units that cost only 1 resource in each of the docks?
2) What is the order of building docks/refineries/colonies and fleet?
a) As i remember the planet i wanna build dock/refinery/colony on should NOT be exhausted and be exhausted after i build anything on it, correct?
b) Can i pay for docks/colonies with resources that the planet I build it on provides?
c) Can i build both refinery and dock on the same planet in the one activation?
d) Can i buy 1 dock, 1 refinery and 1 cruiser exhausting planets on which i am gonna build dock and refinery and which provide me 7 resources?
1) It will give you a free resource to work with at each of your space docks.
a) You may of course choose to only use these 3 resources to build with.
b) Each space dock must be considered a separate build. So you cannot combine the 3 "free" resources to build 1 carrier. You could use the space docks to build 2 ground forces each. Also, you cannot split fighters/ground forces between space docks. Each "set" of fighters/ground forces must come from a specific space dock.
2)
a) You may build facilities on planets that are already exhausted. If the planet was refreshed when building it, it does exhaust.
b) You can use this planet to purchase the facility.
c) You can purchase both a facility and a space dock at the same time.
d) The space dock you built this round may never be used to build units until NEXT round, even if using production or removing the command counter and activating again.
garekds9 said:
1. When agent captures SD, does it count as destroyed SD?
2. What happens when XXCHA player put 2 diplomats on same plant? That planet cant be invaded in theory, since diplomat can delay invasion every 2nd round?
1. My group does not play that capturing counts as destroyed. It is basically the same space dock, you just converted it to your side. Capturing is optional, however.
2. Reread through the rules for leaders. Most of the leaders will state "if at least one ___ is present" So having multiple of the same leader usually has no effect. Also, like Steve-O said, the planet itself is immune to diplomats for this and the next round.
DavidG55311 said:
d) The space dock you built this round may never be used to build units until NEXT round, even if using production or removing the command counter and activating again.
More specifically, any time you place a Space Dock unit, it cannot produce until next turn. If you capture an enemy SD using an Agent or STs, it cannot produce for you until next turn, no matter how long it's been around under your opponent's control. (I saw that in the FAQ while looking up the capture/destroy thing.)
DavidG55311 said:
2. Reread through the rules for leaders. Most of the leaders will state "if at least one ___ is present" So having multiple of the same leader usually has no effect. Also, like Steve-O said, the planet itself is immune to diplomats for this and the next round.
Ayup. I believe the FAQ says the only leader whose ability will stack is the General, if you have multiple Generals in an invasion combat. Two Admirals will NOT give your fleet +2 move, for example.
Thanks for your answers. Helps a lot!
DavidG55311 said:
1. My group does not play that capturing counts as destroyed. It is basically the same space dock, you just converted it to your side. Capturing is optional, however.
For what it's worth, I don't know if an OFFICIAL answer was ever given; since you are removing the enemy space dock from the board, it could very well count as 'destroying' it for gameplay purposes - make sure your group agrees beforehand.
When I activate Rex, space battle against Rex Custodians is engaged. I have won space battle (and invasion too) and my admiral got killed in space battle. After a rolled die I got "captured" outcome. What happens with my admiral?
thx
garekds9 said:
When I activate Rex, space battle against Rex Custodians is engaged. I have won space battle (and invasion too) and my admiral got killed in space battle. After a rolled die I got "captured" outcome. What happens with my admiral?
thx
I think that was answered somewhere. Treat it as a killed result.
1. If I play emergency repairs AC and it gets sabotaged, can I play it again in same combat round, right after previous got canceled?
2. Can diplomat on planet prevent War Sun to bombard even that player doesn't plan to invade a planet?
garekds9 said:
1. If I play emergency repairs AC and it gets sabotaged, can I play it again in same combat round, right after previous got canceled?
No, even if you happen to have the only other Emergency Repairs AC. From base game rules (pg 26):
"A player may never play two identical Action Cards
for the same situation and/or on the same entity during
one round."
garekds9 said:
2. Can diplomat on planet prevent War Sun to bombard even that player doesn't plan to invade a planet?
Question answered in official FAQ:
Q: If a Diplomat is used to stop an invasion, can a War Sun
still bombard the planet?
A: Yes. This is due to the fact that War Suns may bombard a
planet even if no friendly ground forces have landed on it.
Hugesinker said:
From base game rules (pg 26):
Oops, meant page 23.
Hugesinker said:
garekds9 said:
1. If I play emergency repairs AC and it gets sabotaged, can I play it again in same combat round, right after previous got canceled?
No, even if you happen to have the only other Emergency Repairs AC. From base game rules (pg 26):
"A player may never play two identical Action Cards
for the same situation and/or on the same entity during
one round."
The FAQ actually expands on that rule:
Q: Is an Action Card that has been sabotaged considered
played?
A: No. For example, a “play as an action” Action Card that is
sabotaged does not use up its owner’s action.
So the first Emergency Repairs was technically never played, so a second copy would be legal to play.
Steve-O said:
garekds9 said:
4. What does happen with player who has only few ships on board (no docks, no planets, no GFs)? Does he still play till all his units are destroyed?
Yes, he continues playing until all his ships are gone. He still has one vote for himself, IIRC, but unless he happens to have a carrier with some GFs to reclaim a planet, he's probably dead in the water. If a player in that situation chose to stop playing, I wouldn't blame him. Also note that you can't claim VPs if you don't control your home system, so even if he can somehow qualify for something in this situation, it won't actually help him.
Probably the only fighting chance the player would have at that point would be Diplomacy II plus a lot of diplomacy.
I know it depends largely on the gaming group, but that came really close to happening on my table once. This poor bastard was left with 1 planet, no SD and a meager fleet. Eventually he got protection and TGs from two other players (that he had deals with) to rebuild and gang up on the leader. Although he knew that there was no chance to pull a win, he still had some fun for another 3 hours. In the end he came up in 4th (of 5 players) with 6 VPs. =)
Regnum Mortis said:
Steve-O said:
garekds9 said:
4. What does happen with player who has only few ships on board (no docks, no planets, no GFs)? Does he still play till all his units are destroyed?
Yes, he continues playing until all his ships are gone. He still has one vote for himself, IIRC, but unless he happens to have a carrier with some GFs to reclaim a planet, he's probably dead in the water. If a player in that situation chose to stop playing, I wouldn't blame him. Also note that you can't claim VPs if you don't control your home system, so even if he can somehow qualify for something in this situation, it won't actually help him.
Probably the only fighting chance the player would have at that point would be Diplomacy II plus a lot of diplomacy.
I know it depends largely on the gaming group, but that came really close to happening on my table once. This poor bastard was left with 1 planet, no SD and a meager fleet. Eventually he got protection and TGs from two other players (that he had deals with) to rebuild and gang up on the leader. Although he knew that there was no chance to pull a win, he still had some fun for another 3 hours. In the end he came up in 4th (of 5 players) with 6 VPs. =)
Ouch, embrassing to be the 5th player there, heh
He had it coming. He turtled a bit in the first rounds, then sided with the enemy (the leader that the other three were trying to stall). Some rounds later he got backstabbed by his "ally", who took 2 of his systems (a high production with SD, and his HS).
Does 2 generals stuck in invasion combat? Can I re-roll 4 dice if I have 2 generals present?
I know that 2 diplomats and 2 scientists don't stuck, 'am not only sure for 2 generals.
thx
I'm almost positive they wouldn't stack. (There's a race with two generals?)
I have a question to ask.
For the "Reparations" action, can I select an already exhausted planet from my opponent, and refresh one of my own based on that choice? The card does not state "choose an unexhausted planet..." of the opponent's, so it seems by RAW to be okay (if horrifically weasely).
garekds9 said:
Do 2 generals stack in invasion combat? Can I re-roll 4 dice if I have 2 generals present?
I know that 2 diplomats and 2 scientists don't stack, 'am not only sure for 2 generals.
From the FAQ:
Q: If two Generals participate in an Invasion Combat, can
they reroll four dice, or only two dice? Can they reroll the
same die more than once?
A: The player may reroll two dice for each General he has
present. However, he may not reroll the same die more than
once.
Q: Do leader abilities stack (for example do two Admirals
provide +2 movement)?
A: No. For example, if two Admirals are on a ship, it does
not gain +2 movement. The only ability that does stack is the
General’s ability (see question above).
JMobius said:
I have a question to ask.
For the "Reparations" action, can I select an already exhausted planet from my opponent, and refresh one of my own based on that choice? The card does not state "choose an unexhausted planet..." of the opponent's, so it seems by RAW to be okay (if horrifically weasely).
Sounds legit to me. Why would you want to pick an opponent's planet that's already exhausted, though? The opportunity to exhaust one of their available planets is half the reason for playing the card. The only reason I can think of is if all of your opponents' planets are already exhausted, at least you can still refresh one. That doesn't strike me as weasely, it strikes me as unfortunate.
Thematically, your opponent is making political reparations for some previous offense, so he's losing a planet's resources/influence while you gain such.
Apologies for the mistake about multiple Generals, colour me surprised that they are the exception to the rule.
Steve-O said:
JMobius said:
I have a question to ask.
For the "Reparations" action, can I select an already exhausted planet from my opponent, and refresh one of my own based on that choice? The card does not state "choose an unexhausted planet..." of the opponent's, so it seems by RAW to be okay (if horrifically weasely).
Sounds legit to me. Why would you want to pick an opponent's planet that's already exhausted, though? The opportunity to exhaust one of their available planets is half the reason for playing the card. The only reason I can think of is if all of your opponents' planets are already exhausted, at least you can still refresh one. That doesn't strike me as weasely, it strikes me as unfortunate.
Thematically, your opponent is making political reparations for some previous offense, so he's losing a planet's resources/influence while you gain such.
Well, someone pointed out to me that it says "choose and exhaust" a planet. The fact that they go together suggests some problems with choosing a planet that you can't actually exhaust. I would dearly like to be able to do so, though.
More newbie questions :
1. Can player abstain when we vote for "elect" political card ?
2. What happens when player who plays Saar draws Surprise Assault AC? Can he can't use it obviously ? Does he discard it and draw new or he didn't have luck?
3. Can you play VOLUNTARY ANNEXATION AC if there is no neutral planets?
4. In strategy phase, I have 2 signal jamming ACs. I play one, but it gets sabotaged. Can I play 2nd one on same system?
Well at least I know the answer to number 4: No. You may never play 2 copies of the same card on the same entity twice in one game round. You may, however play 2 copies of the same card on two different entities. (If your first jam is sabotaged you may still try to jam another system.)