CAG Actions - are they any good?

By SouthPaw2, in Battlestar Galactica

How is the CAG's first action to launch one viper better than giving someone an Executive order to launch/activate two vipers? Not sure what I'm missing here?

Generally the CAG's actions don't seem very powerful. I've just unpacked the box, so no playtime on it yet, but the CAG title just seems a little weak...

Well, the first action is admittedly more corner-case than the second (which is a tremendously powerful action), but just for the sake of addressing the question, let me offer this hypothetical:

I'm Starbuck, and I'm a CAG in space at the start of my turn (so I have 2 actions). Just for the sake of this example, let's say Apollo's sitting on Command (which is actually a very good spot for him).

  1. I draw my cards and move (or take a movement action like Full Throttle). 2 actions remain
  2. I use the second CAG action, gaining an action back. 2 actions remain
  3. I use the first CAG action, giving the title to Apollo. 1 action remains
  4. I XO Apollo. 2 actions remain (for Apollo)
  5. Apollo uses Command, activating an unmanned and launching self. 2 actions remain
  6. Apollo uses the 2nd CAG action, gaining an action back. 2 actions remain

You get the hint, I won't go on. Obviously a couple of those aren't direct benefits of the CAG title, but that's a pretty simple eight action combo that the two most common pilots can piece together on Starbuck's round. On Apollo's turn he can't return the favor *and* XO Starbuck unless he has a Critical Situation, so you don't get this kind of synergy *twice* every turn around the table, but I still think the example illustrates the potential of CAG. One of these every spin around the table is pretty fantastic for the fleet.

Aahh... I see. So it's obviously a more powerful option for pilots already in space.

Oh yes. For sure. With Exodus, the CAG should be out in space at virtually all times.

Great example, but I think one of the CAG actions (the 2nd?) can only be used once per turn. So if Starbuck did it, he can't, or vice-versa.

Hmm, I read the card differently but believe me I'm open to the possibility I'm wrong.

CAG says, "Once per turn, if you are piloting a viper, you may activate one unmanned viper and then take another action."

By my reading, if I look down and see that I'm CAG, I'm in a viper, and I haven't taken this action yet this turn, I say hooray and activate a ship. Does the fact that another pilot has taken that action this turn preclude me from doing so?

Put differently, is the limitation on "you" doing it only once per turn, or on everyone only doing it once per turn? I assumed the former.

Holy Outlaw said:

Put differently, is the limitation on "you" doing it only once per turn, or on everyone only doing it once per turn? I assumed the former.

Agreed, that is how I would interpret it as well.

The "once per turn" comes first, which implies that it can only be done once per turn, no matter who is holding the title. The "if YOU are piloting" just means that you have to be piloting. They are two independent-operating restrictions. But I'm not sure whether anyone has already verified this with Tim. You should check the BBG rules forum to confirm:

boardgamegeek.com/forum/888084/battlestar-galactica-exodus-expansion/rules

We interpret it as once (total) per turn, but it is still a very powerful ability for a pilot. The first ability seems to be used to get the CAG role back to the pilot in the event of brigging/execution, but it also lets a non-pilot get a maybe critical viper activation w/o having to be in command.

As a CAG in space, that 2nd ability helps clear civ ships real fast, especially with an xo :)

Keithustus said:

The "once per turn" comes first, which implies that it can only be done once per turn, no matter who is holding the title. The "if YOU are piloting" just means that you have to be piloting. They are two independent-operating restrictions. But I'm not sure whether anyone has already verified this with Tim. You should check the BBG rules forum to confirm


I figured the "once per turn" restriction was in place to prevent Apollo and Starbuck from totally abusing the CAG title. We definitely need confirmation on this from a game designer.
And, no offense intended, but I don't trust BGG for official rules clarifications unless it has been verified somewhere else, I've seen some really stupid "rulings" there for a number of games. I love the site, but its not trustworthy sometimes.

You're right to be skeptical, and most of the players there are, too. That's why they constantly email Tim and post his responses. Someone here want to post a thread about it there? I don't think the CAG's OPT has come up there.

I think the way to look at is "you" is the CAG. It does not matter if the CAG changes hands.

I also may have misread the first part, but only one XO or CS per turn, and CS is only on current players movement step (in short).

Mephisto666 said:

I think the way to look at is "you" is the CAG. It does not matter if the CAG changes hands.

I also may have misread the first part, but only one XO or CS per turn, and CS is only on current players movement step (in short).

I can't deny that seems like one of the two plausible readings. It's just funny to run up against an issue like this with really no precedent to solve it. I know I've played different games in the past that would handle this instance differently, but I don't think BSG has had to address this yet. Is there a card or location that says, "Once Per Turn you can ..." that could theoretically be activated by two characters in one turn? I can't place one besides CAG.

So I'm glad to hear how different groups would handle it, but with no ruling and no precedent, it sounds like something that really will have to handled group by group until a clarification comes down the pipe.

And I agree about CS. Once per turn and not in the same turn as XO. There's no CS in the above combo, though.

Pretty simple, once per turn, even if you xo someone and they now have the CAG title, it is still your turn and you used the once per turn ability, that ability won't "refresh" til the token gets passed and the next player starts his turn. XO'ing someone doesn't give them a "turn", it just allows them to act on YOUR turn.