Evil Plans and play timing

By player1402297, in UFS Rules Q & A

Hello,

Evil Plans response:

R Commit: After a control check for an attack has been modified, return that check to its starting value and that attack gets +X damage. X equals the ammount the control check was modified by.

If a control check is modified by two or more seperate sources (ie, 2x BRT or 1x BRT and 1x Anti 'K):

  1. When is Evil Plans activated? In response to the modifier or after all modifiers have been calculated?
  2. How many Evil Plans have to be activated? One per modifier or one copy total?

Thanks in advance.

Hey Matt,

Well, It looks like (in most cases) players would use Evil Plans after both/all modifications are made, so their check would return to it's printed value. But what does X refer to? The amount of the last modification, or the total amount the check has been modified by?

Using for Example, Forethought and Anti-K'
Forethought is used first, giving the check -2.
Anti-K' is used second, giving the check -1.
Player responds with Evil Plans, so X = 1 (the amount being modified currently), or 3 (the total modification)?

Evil plans works after the check is made calculating all modifiers in a single direction, positive or negative. You can only use one copy per attack unless somebody hacks the check after it is made (again either in the negative or positive directions) {examples being hanzo, anti k, iga legacy} because it returns the check to its printed value and voids the modifiers.

simple example
brt -6
brt -6
make check for attack 6
check = -6
r with evil plans
check returns to 6 and the total modifications (-12) add +12 damage to attack

extravagant example
brt -6
brt -6
make check for attack 6
check = -6
r with evil plans
check returns to 6 and the total modifications (-12) add +12 damage to attack
anti k -1
r with evil plans
check returns to 6 and the total modifications (-1) add +1 damage to the attack

Evil Plans is a response to a specific instance of the check being modified, and restores the check as it stands at that time back to the value originally generated.

AssaultSteve was close but not quite -

Say your check gets BRTed twice for -6 each, and you flip a 6. (evil!)

Check starts at 6

gets -6 and becomes 0

gets -6 and would become -6

Respond here with Evil Plans.

The modification you're responding to is -6, so X is 6. The damage bonus that will be applied is 6, and the check is restored to the original value of 6.

So ideally, with floating modifiers before the check, you can resolve them in an order of your choosing so one would assume you'd apply all the small ones first, then the largest one last for the largest possible damage boost (for example, two Forethought and a -5 BRT, you'd let both -2s apply, then the -5, respond to that to reset the check and get +5 damage).

Now, the Anti K' works a little differently since it is a response that is played after the control check is made, so if it's Forethought + The Anti K', you make the check (say, a 5cc) and it immediately gets -2 from the Forethought. This is where you could Evil Plans respond off the -2 to get +2 damage and reset the check. If you do not respond to the -2, the response window for R: abilities to the check opens up and your opponent responds with The Anti K', giving you the -1 window for Evil Plans to give +1 damage and reset the check.

Eye opening, so Tag you're saying that you have to respond (assuming you can) to each source of cchax?

but that doesnt make any sense. evil plans says return it to its starting value. the starting value is the printed CC... how does that work?

Link said:

but that doesnt make any sense. evil plans says return it to its starting value. the starting value is the printed CC... how does that work?

because the starting value isn't always the pritned CC. Take ***Nightmare Geese*** for example. The control value generated initially is 8 minus the revealed control of the random momentum, not what's printed on Nightmare Geese or what's printed on the revealed random momentum.

So if a 5cc gets revealed, the starting value is a 3cc, but the printed control would be 0 because there was no card explicitly referenced for its control value.

gotta apologize. shoulda been more clear. wat i mean is the if u hack my check 3 times for -2 each and i check a 6 the starting value is 6 not 2 (if i R'd on the last one)

This is correct...

sorry i got confused by all this. but i do have 1 more question. If i get BRTd do i Evil Plans after the BRT or after i make the check?

After the check has been made. Any ability that responds "Before a control check is made" sets up a floating ability (the same as "if this attack deals damage") that activates when the control check is ultimately made.