Toad at the Crown of Command

By Zelgadis, in Talisman Rules Questions

I have a quick question in regards to a player becoming a toad at the Crown of Command. Please accept my apologies if this was already adressed in a previous post.

Situation
My buddy was at the Crown of Command (CC) and he was turned into a toad with the Vengence Hex quest reward card. No one else was at the CC.

Vengence hex , discard immediately, choose a char and roll a die 1 = you become a toad for 3 turns, 2-6 the char is turned into a toad for 3 turns.

Question
If you are a toad at the CC, do you have to move or not? I had a quick look at the rules and a toad must move. But what happens if its at the CC? If he moves, the only space beside the CC is the valley of fire and to enter it you need a Talisman. Since he is a toad he drops all his loot and thus has no Talisman. Does this mean he needs to move towards the Portal of Power ordoes he basically stays at the CC for 3 turns doing nothing? Any thoughts on this?

The player at the CC was the Warrior. The other player that was "in route" to the CC was the pixe. I was alerady dead >_< as a Gladiator.

Zelgadis said:

I have a quick question in regards to a player becoming a toad at the Crown of Command. Please accept my apologies if this was already adressed in a previous post.

Situation
My buddy was at the Crown of Command (CC) and he was turned into a toad with the Vengence Hex quest reward card. No one else was at the CC.

Vengence hex , discard immediately, choose a char and roll a die 1 = you become a toad for 3 turns, 2-6 the char is turned into a toad for 3 turns.

Question
If you are a toad at the CC, do you have to move or not? I had a quick look at the rules and a toad must move. But what happens if its at the CC? If he moves, the only space beside the CC is the valley of fire and to enter it you need a Talisman. Since he is a toad he drops all his loot and thus has no Talisman. Does this mean he needs to move towards the Portal of Power ordoes he basically stays at the CC for 3 turns doing nothing? Any thoughts on this?

The player at the CC was the Warrior. The other player that was "in route" to the CC was the pixe. I was alerady dead >_< as a Gladiator.

A player on the Crown becomes a Toad and is forced to ditch all of his items. When it is the Toad's turn, he cannot cast the Command Spell and he must remain on the Crown. When the character has his 1st turn at the Crown after reverting to his own character (turn after Toad), he may pick up all of his items there as long as there is no other character on the Crown!

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

A player on the Crown becomes a Toad and is forced to ditch all of his items. When it is the Toad's turn, he cannot cast the Command Spell and he must remain on the Crown. When the character has his 1st turn at the Crown after reverting to his own character (turn after Toad), he may pick up all of his items there as long as there is no other character on the Crown!

Ell.

Cool thanks man. Also my apologies for creating a duplicate post. >_<

Wow that is a really interesting situation. Stuff's that into the brainbank for future reference.

Ok we had a similar situation, but the one player in the middle was turned into a toad via random and the optional ending of Hand of Doom was there, Does the "toad" player get to roll for the Hand of Doom as a Toad? OR does the toad plaer wait until he reverts to roll the Hand of Doom?

That's awesome, It would be sweet to win as a toad!!! I would think that a toad can roll for the hand of doom, although I don't remember offhand if you can pay fate to reroll as a toad (I always roll a one on the hand of doom, and my fate helps me win). One other thing that would matter is you would have to be on the CoC, as you need a talisman in the valley of fire and a toad would not be able to carry it there.

Toads do indeed use the fate of their original character!

Ell.