Within [....] range

By Exarkfr, in WFRP Rules Questions

Hi guys.

After seeing the preview of the french Player's Vault, something got me wondering.

When an action (Burning Blood, for example) has a requirement that says something like "target within close range", it's my undestanding (unless my english is flawed sonrojado.gif ) that it means "close range or less" (close or engaged in that case).

Yet, the wording on the french card (at least in the preview) doesn't hint "close or less". It just reads that the target has to be "at close range".

Am I mistaken somewhere ?

I don't think the rules themselves have anything about that. You just have to satisfy the requierements to use an action, and those requierements are on the cards themselves, so...

Exarkfr said:

Hi guys.

After seeing the preview of the french Player's Vault, something got me wondering.

When an action (Burning Blood, for example) has a requirement that says something like "target within close range", it's my undestanding (unless my english is flawed sonrojado.gif ) that it means "close range or less" (close or engaged in that case).

Yet, the wording on the french card (at least in the preview) doesn't hint "close or less". It just reads that the target has to be "at close range".

Am I mistaken somewhere ?

I don't think the rules themselves have anything about that. You just have to satisfy the requierements to use an action, and those requierements are on the cards themselves, so...

oui courte portée ou moins, c'est à dire engagé. Si ça ne fonctionnait pas engagé, ce serait indiqué comme sur l'attaque à distance de base "not engaged with the target".

yes close or less = engaged. If it would not work engaged, it would be written on the card, like on Basic Ranged Attack "not engaged with the target". You always may considerer to add some Challenge Dice because being engaged is disturbing for a range attack or spell.

Merci.

Hope they will not forget too many words when translating, that wouldn't be good for the game llorando.gif