Chinese Boxing and Prog Malfuction

By player1952077, in UFS Rules Q & A

Dumb question, I know, but I figured I'd double check.

F Commit: Commit one of your opponent's foundations. It does not ready during their next ready step.

Both cards start the same way. My question is can you use the effect on a foundation that is already commited? I believe so since commiting your opponents foundation isn't part of the cost, it's an effect.

Masterom2000 said:

Dumb question, I know, but I figured I'd double check.

F Commit: Commit one of your opponent's foundations. It does not ready during their next ready step.

Both cards start the same way. My question is can you use the effect on a foundation that is already commited? I believe so since commiting your opponents foundation isn't part of the cost, it's an effect.

the effect relies on the committed foundation that iut references. if you don't commit a foundation, it has nothing to reference.

so, No, you can't commit a committed foundation, nor will the effect affect it.

To commit a card is to take it from a ready state and put it into a committed state, and to ready a card is the same but reversed, as defined in the TR's glossary of terms.

You cannot commit a card which is already committed, nor can you ready a card which is already ready.

Since in both these cases, you select the 'target' with the act of committing one of your opponent's foundations, you cannot choose a foundation which is not ready (and thus eligible to be committed).

Contrast this with Prankster, which has you select the foundation, THEN it says to commit the selected foundation. In Prankster's case, foundations which are already committed become eligible targets.