Marked for glory

By Nioreh, in Talisman Rules Questions

"Cast on yourself when you are about to make a die roll. After rolling, you may add up to 6 to the result of the die roll."

If I roll 2 in ex battle, can i still add 6 and say the result of the roll was an 8?? And if not, why are you allowed to "add up to 6" and not up to 5? If I roll 1, adding 6 would still exceed what a die can roll :)

So you are about to engage in battle, you cast Marked for Glory, you roll a "2" and then may add up to 6 to the die roll. This means "8" would be the highest result!

Ell.

Thx, though I still think 8 is a weird result on a D6 ^^

Its not a weird result if you are rolling in the temple.

Nioreh said:

Thx, though I still think 8 is a weird result on a D6 ^^

You're not changing the result of the die, you're adding a number to the result of the die to get a higher total.

In Talisman Revised 4th Edition there are many other effects that allow you to improve the result of a D6 (Poisoned Dagger, Bolster Spell, Dragon's Teeth, etc...)