Intervention and Safe-House

By brightknight_216, in CoC Rules Discussion

Just need some clarification for Student Archeologist where it states 'After Student Archaeologist is restored, draw a card. Then, each player chooses and discards a card from his hand.'

So does 'restore' take into account of both the situations where Student Archologist is restored to a ready position from its exhaust state and to a face-up position from an insane state?

brightknight_216 said:

Just need some clarification for Student Archeologist where it states 'After Student Archaeologist is restored, draw a card. Then, each player chooses and discards a card from his hand.'

So does 'restore' take into account of both the situations where Student Archologist is restored to a ready position from its exhaust state and to a face-up position from an insane state?

Restore means flipping from facedown to faceup. Ready is from exhausted to, well, ready (untapped). SA triggers on restore only, not ready. If it says restore, then restore it is. Otherwise I'm sure there would be an even better combo for using Mad Genius (after MG is restored, put 1 success token on any story) than the current insane -> restore.

Of course any effect that would make an insane character ready would also by necessity restore it. Nothing comes to mind that does that, but who knows what will be released in the future.

Penfold said:

Of course any effect that would make an insane character ready would also by necessity restore it. Nothing comes to mind that does that, but who knows what will be released in the future.

Actually the FAQ addresses this somewhere. Ready, Exhausted, and Insane are all specific states. You cannot Ready an Insane character.

I might not have been clear, I was talking about an effect that makes an insane character ready, like Brain Transplant. Not that you could target a character who was insane with a ready effect and skip the restore portion.

I couldn't remember any specific effect that called out for it but CardDB succeeded where my memory failed.

Penfold said:

I might not have been clear, I was talking about an effect that makes an insane character ready, like Brain Transplant. Not that you could target a character who was insane with a ready effect and skip the restore portion.

I agree, this was what I was trying to say (albeit poorly), that it needs to go through the restore state to be readied, so any effect would say to do so, rather than just play a ready card and assume that it would also restore.