Card Memory

By Carioz, in CoC Rules Discussion

Hi guys, quick but deep question here:

when does a card cease to be the same instance of the card played (e.g. Endless Interrogation was ruled to be another instance of EI once it got back to hand, character which get put into the discard pile lose "memory" of boni or mali they got while in play, etc)?

Is there any rule of the thumb (e.g. when a card moves from a zone of play to another it ceases to be the same instance, when a card move from in play to out of play) or do we have to guess each time?

I'm pretty sure it's just when it leaves play. So if it enters the discard pile, goes back to your hand, gets attached to a domain etc, these are all considered "having left play".

In the last faq you have that.

(v1.2) Zones of Play
A zone of play is an area where cards can be
during a game.

In Play
In play is the Play Area.

Out of Play
Out of play is the Draw Deck, Hand, Domains
(and resources), and Discard Pile.


If a card would go to an out of play zone, it
goes to its owner’s out of play zone. A card
that moves from an in play zone to an out of
play zone is treated as though it were a new
card
. Any effects connected to the card will no
longer affect it.The only exception to this rule is any abilities
that trigger when a card moves from an in play
zone to an out of play zone.

Thanks, exactly what I was looking for.