Ambidextrous + Two Weapon Wielder

By HPLustcraft, in Rogue Trader Gamemasters

Hey all! Another newbie GM question...

My players have recently gotten to Rank 2, the Rogue Trader (who has Ambidextrous already) just picked up Two Weapon Wielder (Melee)...And I realized I have NO idea how that should work in actual battle.

Can anyone help me with that, and example or something?

I feel like it's on the TIP of my mind, but I'm just not not thinking things through correctly.

L-

HPLustcraft said:

Hey all! Another newbie GM question...

My players have recently gotten to Rank 2, the Rogue Trader (who has Ambidextrous already) just picked up Two Weapon Wielder (Melee)...And I realized I have NO idea how that should work in actual battle.

Can anyone help me with that, and example or something?

I feel like it's on the TIP of my mind, but I'm just not not thinking things through correctly.

L-

Pulled directly from the most extensive explanation of how the talents work together; the Dark Heresy v.3.0 Errata ; Appendix 1 - Combat Talents :

  • If you have the Two Weapon Wielder talent, you can hold two weapons, one in each hand, and can make a single attack with each. This is a Full Action, and both attack rolls suffer a -20 penalty (your off-hand does not suffer the normal -20 off-hand penalty on top of this).
  • If you do not have the Two Weapon Wielder talent and you wield two weapons at the same time, you can use a Full Action to make a single attack with each weapon. However, you suffer a -20 penalty to your attack roll with the weapon in your dominant hand and -40 wuth the weapon in your off hand.
  • If you have the Ambidextrous talent and Two Weapon Wielder, the penalty for each attack is only -10.
  • If you have the Ambidextrous talent but not the Two Weapon Wielder talent, you suffer -10 to the attack roll with your dominant hand and -30 with your off hand.
  • Two Weapon Wielder can be taken either as a Melee or Ballistic talent. You must have both talents if you wish to wield a melee weapon in one hand and a ranged weapon in the other. If you attempt to wield a melee and ranged weapon but do not have both talents, you count as not having the Two Weapon Wielder talent at all.

There is more to it, but it is relevant to Two Weapon Wielder (Ballistic) and firing two ranged weapons at multiple targets and how that interacts with Independent Targeting. There's also a section explaining how the Gunslinger talent also interacts. But the above seems the most pertinent for what you described. Hope it helps.

-=Brother Praetus=-

Brother Praetus said:

HPLustcraft said:

Hey all! Another newbie GM question...

My players have recently gotten to Rank 2, the Rogue Trader (who has Ambidextrous already) just picked up Two Weapon Wielder (Melee)...And I realized I have NO idea how that should work in actual battle.

Can anyone help me with that, and example or something?

I feel like it's on the TIP of my mind, but I'm just not not thinking things through correctly.

L-

Pulled directly from the most extensive explanation of how the talents work together; the Dark Heresy v.3.0 Errata ; Appendix 1 - Combat Talents :

  • If you have the Two Weapon Wielder talent, you can hold two weapons, one in each hand, and can make a single attack with each. This is a Full Action, and both attack rolls suffer a -20 penalty (your off-hand does not suffer the normal -20 off-hand penalty on top of this).
  • If you do not have the Two Weapon Wielder talent and you wield two weapons at the same time, you can use a Full Action to make a single attack with each weapon. However, you suffer a -20 penalty to your attack roll with the weapon in your dominant hand and -40 wuth the weapon in your off hand.
  • If you have the Ambidextrous talent and Two Weapon Wielder, the penalty for each attack is only -10.
  • If you have the Ambidextrous talent but not the Two Weapon Wielder talent, you suffer -10 to the attack roll with your dominant hand and -30 with your off hand.
  • Two Weapon Wielder can be taken either as a Melee or Ballistic talent. You must have both talents if you wish to wield a melee weapon in one hand and a ranged weapon in the other. If you attempt to wield a melee and ranged weapon but do not have both talents, you count as not having the Two Weapon Wielder talent at all.

There is more to it, but it is relevant to Two Weapon Wielder (Ballistic) and firing two ranged weapons at multiple targets and how that interacts with Independent Targeting. There's also a section explaining how the Gunslinger talent also interacts. But the above seems the most pertinent for what you described. Hope it helps.

-=Brother Praetus=-

This was exactly what I was looking for!

Thank you!!!

L-