I believe I've discovered the rulebook answer to this question, but it seems so wrong that I'm basically consulting the community for a second opinion. The question is this:
Do Treachery cards with Skill Check Ability icons trigger the "consequence" even if the check was not reckless (and therefore, even if the printed text on the card did not resolve)?
The Exodus rulebook answers this question in multiple places with an unequivocal "yes."
From page 6:
"Some Crisis and Super Criss Cards feature a "consequence" result . . . that is triggered when at least 1 skill Card with a Skill Check Ability icon is played into that Crisis Card's skill check."
Later on the same page:
"If . . . at least 1 Skill Card with a Skill Check Ability icon was played into the check, resolve the "consequence" result."
So the rulebook is bullish on this, and leaves no room for doubt that a treachery card like "Broadcast Location" in the skill check will always trigger the "consequence," even if the check was not reckless, and even if its own ability didn't resolve.
The only reason I'm posting here is because my gut says that it's wrong. How has everyone else been playing Treachery cards vis a vis "consequences"? Has your group decided that the "consequence" only resolves on Treachery cards if the check actually was reckless? (In other words that the skill check ability needs to resolve to trigger the "consequence"?) This is different from what the rulebook says, but I'm sort of assuming it's how people are playing it and I think it seems more reasonable. How has your group handled this?