Several specific questions

By Ahzrab, in CoC Rules Discussion

I usually play an agency/yog deck against a buddy with hastur/cthulhu.

We made some games today and as usual, stumbled upon some questions :)

1. Can the "Agency Medic" immediately cancel a wound after a combat struggle?

2. I tried to use the "cursed skull", he played "power drain", my question is, does the skull must be still sacrificed or do I just have to pay 1 and can keep it?

3. What happens with the resource I have to sacrifice after "Servant out of time" enters play? Is it out of game or does it enter the discard pile?

4. Can "Carl Stanford" use my "Servant" to trigger his ability?

5. What happens when I try to play a character and my opponent uses "Power Drain"? Do I have to pay for the character and put it back on my hand or does it enter the discard pile

6. Can "Pulled Under" exhaust one of my characters and additionally destroy one of mine?

I hope someone can help.

Ahzrab said:

1. Can the "Agency Medic" immediately cancel a wound after a combat struggle?

2. I tried to use the "cursed skull", he played "power drain", my question is, does the skull must be still sacrificed or do I just have to pay 1 and can keep it?

3. What happens with the resource I have to sacrifice after "Servant out of time" enters play? Is it out of game or does it enter the discard pile?

4. Can "Carl Stanford" use my "Servant" to trigger his ability?

5. What happens when I try to play a character and my opponent uses "Power Drain"? Do I have to pay for the character and put it back on my hand or does it enter the discard pile

6. Can "Pulled Under" exhaust one of my characters and additionally destroy one of mine?

#1: Yes, Disrupts are allowed during struggles.

#2: Still sacced:

"Note that sacrificing a card to pay for an effect
is also considered paying a cost. For example,
if a player wishes to activate Predatory Byakhee
(Core Set F89), he must sacrifice the Byakhee.
If the effect were canceled, the Byakhee would
still be sacrificed." (FAQ)

#3: Discard.

#4: No, you can only sacrifice cards you control.

#5: Can't use PD to counter a character being played. Playing a character counts as taking an action, but is not an "Action:".

#6: Your character is exhausted, but you can destroy anyone's character.

Ahzrab said:

I usually play an agency/yog deck against a buddy with hastur/cthulhu.

We made some games today and as usual, stumbled upon some questions :)

1. Can the "Agency Medic" immediately cancel a wound after a combat struggle?

2. I tried to use the "cursed skull", he played "power drain", my question is, does the skull must be still sacrificed or do I just have to pay 1 and can keep it?

3. What happens with the resource I have to sacrifice after "Servant out of time" enters play? Is it out of game or does it enter the discard pile?

4. Can "Carl Stanford" use my "Servant" to trigger his ability?

5. What happens when I try to play a character and my opponent uses "Power Drain"? Do I have to pay for the character and put it back on my hand or does it enter the discard pile

6. Can "Pulled Under" exhaust one of my characters and additionally destroy one of mine?

I hope someone can help.

Ahzrab said:

1. Can the "Agency Medic" immediately cancel a wound after a combat struggle?

2. I tried to use the "cursed skull", he played "power drain", my question is, does the skull must be still sacrificed or do I just have to pay 1 and can keep it?

3. What happens with the resource I have to sacrifice after "Servant out of time" enters play? Is it out of game or does it enter the discard pile?

4. Can "Carl Stanford" use my "Servant" to trigger his ability?

5. What happens when I try to play a character and my opponent uses "Power Drain"? Do I have to pay for the character and put it back on my hand or does it enter the discard pile

6. Can "Pulled Under" exhaust one of my characters and additionally destroy one of mine?

1) Yes because it is a Disrupt it can interrupt story resolution.

2) Unfortunately yes it must be sacrificed. The "pay 1 and sacrifice Cursed Skull to" is part of the cost of activating the event that was canceled. Anytime the format of the action says "[do something] to [do something else]" It is part of the cost and must happen even if it is canceled.

3) Discard pile. I can't think of any effect that actually removes something from the game. Everything ends up heading to the discard pile when it leaves play unless otherwise specified (return to hand etc)

4) Yes because the Servant out of Time has the "Cultist" specifier (I'm intentionally not saying type or keyword or whatever cuz I *always* get the term wrong)

5) In almost all cases, playing a character can't be Power Drained (or Performance Artist, etc). Power Drain only works on "Response:" and "Action:". Playing a character is just a normal action that happens during the operations phase. Note: "action" and "Action:" are not the same thing. Now, sometimes a character such as Dreamlands Fanatic can enter play from a response (ex: Response: After an opponent's character leaves play, put Dreamlands Fanatic into play from your hand.) In this case if the Response is canceled with a Power Drain the Fanatic goes to the discard pile.

6) Absolutely. The only requirements are that the target character is exhausted and not an Ancient One. If it had said "your opponent's character" or "a character you control" then it would be bound to one player specifically.

Good to see you're getting lots of games in and finding questions!

Sorry for the double post there. You got yours in while I was writing mine.

in regards to #4: I didn't read close enough to realize that it was his opponent playing Cthulhu so yes Dam is correct. When paying costs you can only sacrifice your own cards (including domain resources).

Thanks a lot for the fast replies.

Just to be clear for "Pulled Under": I have a "Cannibal Ghast" out, my opponent plays "Pulled Under". He can exhaust the Ghast and immediately destroy it?

AND

The "Agency Medic": I can disrupt the struggles and save a char from getting wounded with my medic. Does my opponent then have the option to play another disrupt like writhing wall and cancel my disrupt? The result of the action would be, that I loose the char which is attached to the story and loose my medic, right?

Ahzrab said:

Thanks a lot for the fast replies.

Just to be clear for "Pulled Under": I have a "Cannibal Ghast" out, my opponent plays "Pulled Under". He can exhaust the Ghast and immediately destroy it?

AND

The "Agency Medic": I can disrupt the struggles and save a char from getting wounded with my medic. Does my opponent then have the option to play another disrupt like writhing wall and cancel my disrupt? The result of the action would be, that I loose the char which is attached to the story and loose my medic, right?

Ahhh no. We didn't realize that it was your opponent playing Pulled Under (it's a 0 cost card so it can be played by either player). In that case he could only exhaust a character he controls since it is the paying of a cost "exhaust to do something". He could still target your character though.

For the disrupt chain... no. None of the current disrupts say that they allow for disrupting a disrupt. Take a look at the bold word right before the description of what it does. That's pretty important. Power Drain, for example, says to cancel an Action or Response just played. Power drain, therefore, can't be used to cancel a Forced Response or a Disrupt.

You are correct though that *IF* it were allowed you would lose the medic since sacrificing him is the cost :)

KallistiBRC said:

Ahzrab said:

Thanks a lot for the fast replies.

Just to be clear for "Pulled Under": I have a "Cannibal Ghast" out, my opponent plays "Pulled Under". He can exhaust the Ghast and immediately destroy it?

AND

The "Agency Medic": I can disrupt the struggles and save a char from getting wounded with my medic. Does my opponent then have the option to play another disrupt like writhing wall and cancel my disrupt? The result of the action would be, that I loose the char which is attached to the story and loose my medic, right?

Ahhh no. We didn't realize that it was your opponent playing Pulled Under (it's a 0 cost card so it can be played by either player). In that case he could only exhaust a character he controls since it is the paying of a cost "exhaust to do something". He could still target your character though.

For the disrupt chain... no. None of the current disrupts say that they allow for disrupting a disrupt. Take a look at the bold word right before the description of what it does. That's pretty important. Power Drain, for example, says to cancel an Action or Response just played. Power drain, therefore, can't be used to cancel a Forced Response or a Disrupt.

You are correct though that *IF* it were allowed you would lose the medic since sacrificing him is the cost :)

Writhing wall says cancel an triggered effect. Is Dirupt not an triggered effect?

yes Writhing wall can cancel a Disrupt and a Forced Response.

Another question coming up:

The opponent has victoria glasser in play, she's villanious, he plays blind submission and wants to overtake steve clarney. Steve Clarney is heroic.

Does he have to discard victoria if he wants to take him?

Can't be done. You can't voluntarily have a Heroic and Villanous character at the same time. And you can't just discard Victoria.

Just another question coming in...

If I play Victoria Glasser and no character is out. What happens? Does anything happens at all? Can she even be played if you can't resolve her forced response?

Ahzrab said:

Just another question coming in...

If I play Victoria Glasser and no character is out. What happens? Does anything happens at all? Can she even be played if you can't resolve her forced response?

Victoria Glasser's text is worded very carefully. Note that it says "Choose a character. That character goes insane..." This is different than "Choose a character to go insane.". Due to the difference here she can choose any character, even ones with willpower and terror icons.

Ahzrab said:

Just another question coming in...

If I play Victoria Glasser and no character is out. What happens? Does anything happens at all? Can she even be played if you can't resolve her forced response?

KallistiBRC said:

Ahzrab said:

Just another question coming in...

If I play Victoria Glasser and no character is out. What happens? Does anything happens at all? Can she even be played if you can't resolve her forced response?

Victoria Glasser's text is worded very carefully. Note that it says "Choose a character. That character goes insane..." This is different than "Choose a character to go insane.". Due to the difference here she can choose any character, even ones with willpower and terror icons.

Oh okay,

didn't know that. Then she probably gives me the same headaches as Carl Stanford does during games :)

Btw, has "small price to pay" the same effect as victoria's forced response.

Can I choose a character with willpower/terror icons to go insane?

Unfortunately no. This is where the wording of the card comes into play. "Choose one of those characters to go insane." You have to choose something that can legally go insane. And if that wasn't bad enough the two effects are linked by "then". "Then wound the other character". For a clause with "then" to happen, the first part has to happen.

There's a lot of good information about this in the FAQ BTW.

Yep that ruling on BGG is correct :)

I got some questions again SORRY :)

I played Parallel Universe before the struggles resolved. My buddy countered with Power Drain. So I had the opinion that I have to drain a domain but can keep the card on my hands. He argued that I played it like an event and have to put it in my discard pile. So who's right on this one? Is it even correct that I can play the card even it's not in my operations phase (Because of the action trigger)?

Second Question: Can someone explain me the effect of Night-Shift Security. Kinda don't know what to think about it. Does it prevents the opponent from playing things like shotgun blast/ short fuse?

Regarding question 1, we have a similar question in the FAQ about Dreamlands Fanatic:

If a player triggers the Dreamlands Fanatic’s response ability and an opponent plays a Power Drain in response, does the character go to the discard pile or back to the owner’s hand?


The character enters the discard pile.


So, the same logic would apply to your Parallel Universe.

Regarding question 2, yes. Any card that targets a particular character wouldn't work on the controller of Nightshift Security. Cards that are not specific, like A Single Glimpse ("Choose an opponent. That opponent must sacrifice a character if able") would work because they don't target a specific character.

I searched the forums/faq for some info about Nyarlathothep's passive effect but didn't find any.

<<During the resource phase, if an opponent wishes to attach a resource to a domain, the resource must be chosen at random from his hand. (Choose the domain first, then randomly determine the resource.)>>

I got some problems with the last part of the effect...

If I play Nyarlathothep and my opponent wants to attach a resource to a domain. Does he chooses the domain or do I get both "benefits" aka choosing the domain and picking the random card?

Hmm... I never thought about the poorly worded statement before (they don't specify WHO chooses the domain). I have always played it that the opponent chose the domain and then a random card was assigned to that domain.

The way I look at this is that you can only know the opponent wants to attach a resource to a domain when he's like "ok, I'm going to attach to this domain." He's chosen to resource to that domain and then Nyar kicks in?

Narly's effect only instructs what the opponent should do, nowhere does it signal the control of Narly to do anything. The words in parenthesis are meant to clarify what is done the effect itself already clarifies who does it.

"Choosing a resource at random" doesn't have to mean you choose a card from his hand...

Correct. The card is only specifying the order of what happens, it does not remove the choice of the domain that the rules already grant, otherwise it would say YOU choose the domain.