Undying inconsistency

By gran_orco, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

In Rtl, lingering effects are removed if the undying monster roll a surge, both in spanish and english versions of the rules.

In vanilla, spanish version says that lingering effects are removed . However, the english version and the faq says that lingering effects are not removed .

Althought the spanish version has the english misprints corrected, I think that the english version is correct. Why this change? Should lingering effects remain until the monster fails the undying test?

In the original version of Undying, anything extra (beyond what was required to kill it the first time) "carries over" into the next life. If you deal twice its max health in wounds, then it needs to make two consecutive Undying rolls to survive. Each successful roll basically just adds its max health to its current health, so it makes perfect sense that effect tokens would carry over.

In Road to Legend , they changed a bunch of abilities in subtle ways, seemingly at random. One of the changes they made was that a successful Undying roll resets the monster to pristine condition and doesn't carry anything over. No matter how much damage you do, one roll saves the monster and restores it to full health. So it makes sense that lingering effect tokens would also be removed.

So in vanilla the correct would be that the lingering effects remain. Would not it?

gran_orco said:

So in vanilla the correct would be that the lingering effects remain. Would not it?

Yes, this is the way the English rules have been written and FFG has never given us a reason to suspect it was a mistake.

K, I'm having issues with inconsistencies here still. My "Vanilla" Descent original rules read as follows word for word.

Undying: When an Undying figure is killed, roll one power die. If a power surge is rolled, the figure is instantly restored to full health (although any leftover damage from the killing blow is then applied to it) and any lingering effects are removed. An Undying figure must stay dead in order for effects that take place when it is "killed" to actually occur.

Sounds to me like you remove any effect tokens if they figure dies (unless the new attack adds new ones obviously and the rollover damage doesn't kill the monster a second time).

And thanx, I was playing RtL Undying wrong it appears, I'll have to make this correction.

Huh. Apparently they changed it; the pdf version of the rulebook is convenient, but it doesn't include all the changes in recent printings.

Antistone said:

Huh. Apparently they changed it; the pdf version of the rulebook is convenient, but it doesn't include all the changes in recent printings.

Yah, I noticed they fixed several things that were still mentioned in the FaQ, such as all of the cards in the later releases of the main board game were fixed so they didn't include original miscorrections (making all the replacement ones I got in the expansions useless instead, except as replacement copies). Nice to see they continue to improve upon the original version of the game while still including fixes for those who bought the original mistakes.

I am misunderstanding something sonrojado.gif Which is the final rule in vanilla game?