Rules Clarification

By Drglord, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Okay 2 more questions coming up. Thanks for your time.

1) Does the effect of spirit spear is considered a AoE weapon? I would think so. The question comes in regard of soaring. Does it ignore the extra 4 range from soaring?

2) let's say andira has spiritwalker. A firendly figure is adjacent to an enemy. Well you get the picture i guess. Does she get the pierce 2 or not?

1) I guess so, since it affects more than one space = an area. The same Q&A would most likely be valid for Word of Vaal as well.

2) Yes, of course. Spritwalker treats the attack as if the attacker was in place of the friendly figure, in all aspects.

Parathion said:

2) Yes, of course. Spritwalker treats the attack as if the attacker was in place of the friendly figure, in all aspects.

Actually, Spiritwalker makes the attack originate from that square; that doesn't necessarily mean that the attacking hero counts as being in that square. For example, I would argue that the spirit walker still counts as standing in her actual position for purposes of determining whether she's affected by Black Curse , which says "enemy figures within 3 spaces ...receive –1 Range... and –1 Damage to all attacks they make ".

Of course, the distinction between attacker's location and attack origin didn't exist when Andira's ability (or Command) were written, so they are understandably somewhat vague on that point. I think they are grammatically ambiguous.

Antistone said:

Parathion said:

2) Yes, of course. Spritwalker treats the attack as if the attacker was in place of the friendly figure, in all aspects.

Actually, Spiritwalker makes the attack originate from that square; that doesn't necessarily mean that the attacking hero counts as being in that square. For example, I would argue that the spirit walker still counts as standing in her actual position for purposes of determining whether she's affected by Black Curse , which says "enemy figures within 3 spaces ...receive –1 Range... and –1 Damage to all attacks they make ".

Of course, the distinction between attacker's location and attack origin didn't exist when Andira's ability (or Command) were written, so they are understandably somewhat vague on that point. I think they are grammatically ambiguous.


FAQ pg10
Q: Does a hero using Spiritwalker to attack benefit from Command if his actual space is in range of the commander or if the hero through whom he is spiritwalking is in range of the commander?
A: The attack is made as if the attacker were in the space occupied by his ally , so he only receives the benefit from Command and similar effects if the ally’s square is in range of them. However, the hero is always in range of himself, if he has the Command ability.

Break out the record books... gui%C3%B1o.gif

I have something more bizzare. Wind pact allows you to stand over pits without effect right (treat as flying in regard of pits as i understand) anyway let's say you have the winged boots or you are zyla. You have spiritwalker the other guy is standing inside a pit. As i understand you can still spiritwalk through him and bypass the adjacent line of sight inside a pit since if YOU WERE in that space you would not be restricted. Agreed?

Drglord said:

I have something more bizzare. Wind pact allows you to stand over pits without effect right (treat as flying in regard of pits as i understand) anyway let's say you have the winged boots or you are zyla. You have spiritwalker the other guy is standing inside a pit. As i understand you can still spiritwalk through him and bypass the adjacent line of sight inside a pit since if YOU WERE in that space you would not be restricted. Agreed?

No. Wind Pact allows you to move through pit obstacles without effect, not stand in them with no effect.
A hero with wind pact standing in a pit has 'pit LOS'.

What about fly then? If i was zyla? I get normal LOS right?

Drglord said:

What about fly then? If i was zyla? I get normal LOS right?

Fly
Figures with the Fly ability may move through enemy figures and obstacles as if they weren't there. However, flying figures cannot end their movement in a space containing another figure or an obstacle that blocks movement. A flying figure may end its turn in a space containing an obstacle that inflicts damage without effect.

No. Fly is essentially a movement skill.
Apparently even flyers actually 'walk' much of the time (they are hit by pit traps for example), they just can do the flying bit as needed. Maybe they are too heavy to fly all teh time or the constricted space is tricky or something.

Well it clearly states that you can end your movement on a pit without effect so i fail to see why not. "A flying figure may end its turn in a space containing an obstacle that inflicts damage without effect."

Drglord said:

Well it clearly states that you can end your movement on a pit without effect so i fail to see why not. "A flying figure may end its turn in a space containing an obstacle that inflicts damage without effect."

It is refering to this rule from the FAQ pg10
Q: What happens if you are on a lava space at the beginning of your turn and you don’t move?
A: If you begin your turn on a damaging effect, such as lava or a monster’s aura, and do not move off of it, you are damaged by it at the end of your turn.

Further, a Pit is not actually "an obstacle that inflicts damage" necessarily. A pit inflicts damage only when you 'fall into it', not simply as 'a damaging effect'. You can 'stay' on a pit and it will not inflict damage and you can even enter a pit from another pit and it will not inflict damage.

Lava is an examples of a space that inflicts damage. A Flyer can end on lava without taking damage, even if it does not move off.

Further, that rule only says you can end your turn without suffering an effect, not that there is never any effect from the obstacle on you. For movement related effects (including damaging effects) they only have effect when moving or ending turn, and Fly covers only these situations. Tracing LOS is not happening (at least when it matters) during movement or end of turn, so Fly makes no difference to the LOS effect of pits. It also makes no difference to Fog for example.