Silver Twilight Expansion Spoiler List

By Eryx_UK, in CoC General Discussion

EchPiEl said:

My problem is that Descendant's effect uses the same template as Azathoth's, and by my knowledge, Aza's one does not trigger if it's not in play/blanked.

No, it's not the same template. Azathoth have 2 effects : The Response and a permanent effect. The last sentence is not part of the Response. You have a blank line between the 2 effects.

The template I was refering to is "at X timeframe do Y" which is the same both in Azathoth and Descendant of Eibon, and it should always resolve as the same type of effect, not sometimes as a triggerred effect and sometimes as part of another effect. That's called rules inconsistency.

No, actually it isn't. It is called diversity in effect. A card that is triggered and a card that is pssive/constant but have similar effects are decidedly exploring different design space.

Descendant's ability to return to hand is part of the ability that puts him into play. No amount of blanking would stop it from happening.

Pilar is the same; His ability turns him into a character, then he gets blanked, but the original effect that turned him into a character is still running 'in the background.' Although, since it's a passive effect, it could also cause an inverted feedback loop and crash the game, but yeah.

Side note: "Nun with a Gun" is a friggin' HILARIOUS subtitle!