Turn Order on New Dungeon Level

By Lobosolo1, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

My gaming group is playing RTL for the first time and I had a question regarding turn order on a new Dungeon Level. I know that the new level is drawn and assembled as soon as the last hero makes to the portal or town, but after assembly, is it the Overlord's turn?

1. In short, does the OL draw 2 cards and get 4 threat AND move monsters after assembling the map?

OR

2. Does the OL assemble the new level and essentially lose his or her turn with the heroes starting the new level?

I looked around for an answer in the rules, FAQs and GLOAQ, but I couldn't find an answer.

Thanks for any help you can give.

- Lobo

Lobosolo said:

2. Does the OL assemble the new level and essentially lose his or her turn with the heroes starting the new level?

The heroes always get the first turn on each dungeon level.

Thanks Steve-O. I was leaning that way based on the wording, but I wanted to make sure. It seemed a little strange to lose the threat and cards.

Lobosolo said:

... It seemed a little strange to lose the threat and cards.

The OL keeps all their acculated threat and cards in hand, the OL just has his turn skipped allowing the heroes to get first crack at the new dungeon level.

Right, that makes sense. I knew we kept the cards and threat per the FAQ, but I was hoping to get 2 more cards and 4 threat. No biggie. Thanks for the feedback.