Opponent Commits & Attached Cards

By Mr. K, in CoC Rules Discussion

Some more 'new player' questions for you!

1. Can the Opposing player drain domains to bring cards into play to answer a challenge? If not, does this mean that the first round for the first Active player is effectively Unchallenged?

2. Can support cards such as the Tcho-Tcho Talisman only be attached one time? And can they be destroyed?

Many thanks!

K xx

Except for special cards that say something like " ACTION : Pay something and bring this card into play", you can only bring characters and support cards into play during your Operations phase. But, the first player may not go to stories on their first turn, so that is not a problem.

Attachments go away when a character goes insane or is killed. The attachment goes into the discard pile. So unless you have a way to extract it from the discard pile, it stays there.

Ok, thanks. There doesn't seem to be anywhere in the rules that states that the first Active player misses their Story phase - but it makes sense.

I'll try to clarify my question on Attachment cards: Do Attachment cards stay permanently with the card they are first attached to - or can you re-attach them to different cards each turn?

Cheers!

K xx

On Page 8 of the rule book, you will find this paragraph:

00142243Philadelphia University2128414.0Normal0falsefalsefalseEN-USJAX-NONE

Important Exception: During the very first turn of the game, the starting player may only draw one card during his draw phase and must skip his entire story phase. This is known as the “first player penalty” and only applies to the starting player on the very first turn of the game.

Attachments stay on the character to whom they are originally attached (unless there is a way to move it, like Dream Dagger for example). We know this because there are no rules or mechanisms which allow moving equipment or other attachments between characters, nor any rules to remove attachments, except special rules written on specific cards.

TheProfessor said:

On Page 8 of the rule book, you will find this paragraph:

sorpresa.gif Ah, you are, of course, correct. I cannot tell you how many times I've read that exact paragraph and yet didn't see it.

Thanks for your time!

K xx