Invoking several blessings at the "same time"

By Gallows, in WFRP Rules Questions

Lets say a priest has 3 favor.

  1. He invokes a blessing that requires 6 favor
  2. Next round he invokes a blessing that requires 4 favor
  3. The third round he invokes a blessing that requires 4 favor.
  4. On the fourth round he invokes a blessing that requires 3 favor
  5. He starts fighting with his warhammer and lets favor flow in one point each round.

He does not curry favor at any time so only one favor is added each round. Is this allowed and how will the favor be divided among the blessings. Not saying that it's effective, but in some situations it could be wise to store the effects only to fire them off at the same time. If the favor is divided among them then when they all just need one or two favor, the uses curry favor to invoke several blessings at the same time.

Let's look at some relevant rules from the Tome of Blessings

pg 31, box "Invoking Blessings"

"Next, after successfully invoking the blessing, the character must provide enough favour to fuel the blessing's effect."

Now, is the "must" a requirement on the priest to then attempt to gain additional favor, or merely continuing on the thought that until the blessing gets enough favor, it doesn't resolve.

pg 32, right side first paragraph

"On the character's next turn, dring his Beginning of Turn phase, a previously invoked blessing that still requires additional favour will automatically draw any new favour generated until it has satisfied the blessing's requirement, or until there is no more favour to draw."

This continues until the favour meets the requirement or the priest aborts the blessing.

I don't exactly see anything prohibiting the casting of subsequent blessings with a previous one pending, although it doesn't make much sense to me ... however they will never resolve at the same time unless a successful curry favor somehow manages to acquire enough favor to complete multiple blessings in a round. Because, from quote #2, that first blessing will consume all favor at the start of each round, meaning no favor will go towards completing any of the other blessings. The priest cannot pick and choose how much favor goes to which blessing. So, what will happen is merely that all the blessing effects will be delayed. As favor is gained, it will be applied towards that oldest one invoked until that blessing is complete or aborted.

Now, as a GM I would also point out that a priest needs to keep in mind that it is FAVOR from a god/goddess and that the priest is asking for blessings from their deity. It might very well be frowned upon by the deity if a priest spams a string of blessing requests without actually attempting to acquire enough divine favor nor waiting for the results of a previous request. I'd actually say this is probably a quite likely response by the god. So, while it might not be prohibited by an actual rule, I'd probably think the deity in question wouldn't allow it.

Yeah I agree with you dvang. It wouldn't be very priestly to act like a little kid with a wish list. Just curious, because in some situations it could be possible to start two or more blessings and then if you get a great roll on a later curry favor you could fuel more than just one of them. We have no priests in our group, but angering the gods by doing it would be a good resolution if a clever player should try it :)

With a Curry Favour action, reckless side, I think you can get, at most +7 favour.

Assuming that you've arranged it so that there is only 1 favour needed in the oldest blessing pending,

That would leave 6 favour for other pending blessings, which could conceivably be enough for maybe two (at 3 points each). I haven't looked through the blessings and favour costs in a while to really know the costs of some of the lower rank blessings.

Hmm, now that I reread and think about this ... it seems to me (although it isn't clear), that an invoking blessing really should have at least one favour placed on it to truly have begun/begin pending. Of course, nothing actually refers to invoking with 0 favour in the rules.

I'd go for the 1st in - 1st served basis to draw the new Favors.

Also, you could easily argue that a "young" priest can't queue much Blessings whereas a veteran one could, thus imposing a 1 Blessing per Rank "queueing" (his deity is more willing to answer his hastiness). Or maybe, so that you don't have to forbid anything, simply add a Challenge to the Blessing action if there is already one Blessing waiting for Favors to activate.

to the OP:

imo, none of the blessings would ever go off. since his favour points cannot exceed 3 by normal regeneration.

"Curry Favour" is needed to accumulate enough favour. Then it is like 1st in, 1st out.

One thing is unclear to me.

If I have 3 favour and the blessing needs 7 to go off, "Curry Favour" would take me 1 over the max favour I can accumulate safely.

I understood it that way, that blessings go off at the start of a round, while checking if you are within you favour threshold happens

at the end of the turn.

that would mean I have problems with my favour at the end of turn, since the blessing wont consume the favour once the required

amount is generated.

what do you guys think about this?

It's only a problem if some effect causes you to lose favor and you have none. If you have 3 favor and invoke a 7 favor blessing it will go off the moment it has drawn enough favor from you. When the blessing draws favor from you, the favor is taken from your stored favor and put on the blessing card. If you're below your equilibrium, you gain 1 favor each turn. With curry favor you can get more. But you can safely invoke a blessing even if you don't have enough favor. The blessing will just continue to draw favor until it has enough. That is the reason for my original question. Because if you had one blessing almost done and two other 3 favor blessings down and pending, then if you used curry favor and got 7 favor you could fuel all three in one go.

Right, what Gallows said. Unlike a wizard, priests may invoke Blessings and then build up the favour each turn until enough favor is reached to enable the effect.

If a priest invokes a blessing that costs 7 favour, and currently is at equilibrium of 4, upon successful invocation those 4 favour are placed on the blessing card. The blessing still need 3 favour before the effects activate. Now, the priest is at 0 favour. At the start of each of the priest's rounds in the encounter he will gain 1 favour, per the rules for equilibrium. This 1 favour will automatically be consumed by the oldest invoked blessing and the token immediately placed on the blessing. So, in the example, after the turn the 7-favour blessing was invoked, at the start of the priest's 3rd subsequent turn, the effects of the blessing get activated when that third favour gets generated and then consumed.

1. Invoke blessing, 4 favour added to blessing

2. start of priest turn 2, add 1 favour to blessing (5 favour)

3. start of priest turn 3, add 1 favour to blessing (6 favour)

4. start of priest turn 4, add 1 favour to blessing (7 favour). Blessing effects activate at start of priest's 4th turn.

Now, as an example, on turn 2 the priest invokes another blessing, that costs 3 favour, and is successful. Since he currently has 0 favour, no tokens are placed on the blessing. (We will assume here that it is still successful/'pending', despite having 0 favour tokens on it). Then, on turn 3, the priest successfully invokes another 3-favour blessing and then curries favour, scoring a whopping 7 favour with it (despite the extra challenge die)

1. Invoke blessing #1, 4 favour added to blessing #1

2. start of priest turn 2, add 1 favour to blessing #1 (5 favour), invoke blessing #2 (0 favour)

3. start of priest turn 3, add 1 favour to blessing #1 (6 favour), blessing #2 (0 favour), invoke blessing #3 (0 favour), Curry favour (+7 favour).

As soon as Curry favour is successful and generates the 7 favour, those favour will immediately be consumed by pending blessings (based on order invoked). One goes to blessing #1, taking it to 7 favour and activating its effects. The next 3 favour get applied to blessing #2, meeting its total and activating its effects. The last 3 favour then get applied to blessing #3, and meeting its total, thus activating its effects as well. So, three blessings all having their effects activate in a single round from a single action.

Sure, this is an edge case, needing an excellent curry favour roll and the correct blessings to get the max. Arranging two blessings to complete at the same time would be less difficult, but presents the same idea. It seems legal in the rules, but something doesn't seem right about this to me personally. Not that it might be overpowered or anything, it just seems that (as I mentioned) asking a deity for a whole string of blessings without getting enough favour to complete the first one is assuming quite a lot for your deity.

I've sent the question to Jay, and we'll see what he says about it. Personally, I think there probably should be some mechanical detriment to juggling this, such as an added Stress per blessing pending, or increasing the challenge/difficulty of each additional blessing being invoked, or something. (I'm leaning towards just adding Stress ... as I love adding Stress and Fatigue to my players... muahahaa)

to my knowledge, you adjust favor/power at the END of your turn (not at the start) so the blessing's invocation will be complete at the end of turn 3 :

TURN 1. use the blessing as action. Add 4 favors to your blessing +1 gained the end of turn which is immediatly attracted by the blessing card (total on card : 5 favors)

TURN 2. play a regular turn. At the end of turn, gain 1 favor immediatly attracted by the blessing card (total on card : 6 favors)

TURN 3. play a regular turn. At the end of the turn, gain 1 favor immediatly attracted by the blessing card... total on card is 7 favor ! KABOOM : blessing launched.

Ah right, sorry. Not sure what I was thinking when I wrote that up. End of turn gain favour, yes.

Not to be picky, but at the end of turn phase, you regain 1 Favor (you're at 0 Favor) and it is not put-sucked onto the awaiting Blessing at that time, only at the next "begining of turn phase" as per RAW, quite confusing at 1st.

You regen at the end of your turn, but you check for your awaiting Blessings for new Favors to be put onto them at the begining of turn phase. That is how you can get over twice your WP if you get a nice Curry Favors inbetween (can get up to 7 in Reckless). The quickcasted Blessing will take the Favors the player has before the Curry action, Favors gained with the Curry action will wait on the player until next begining of turn phase to be moved to the awaiting Blessing. Big difference with the Wizards.

p. 32 of ToBlessings :
"On the character’s next turn, during his Beginning of Turn phase, a previously invoked blessing that still requires additional favour will automatically draw any new favour generated until it has satisfied the blessing’s requirement, or until there is no more favour to draw."

What is confusing (i got it wrong at 1st too) is the blue box above with the exemple (the same page) saying something else : "As soon as the 4th Favor was available, it would be claimed by Divine Perseverance ...". It contradicts the rule written under the box. Being an exemple (most likely wrong), i'd use the rule "drawn at begining of turn phase"

Edit : the Player Guide clarifies it quite clearly p.119 even if the blue box's exemple is still there though (i'd use it as the "1st in, 1st served" pointer if more than one Blessings are waiting for Favors)

But you can still fire off more than one blessing at a time if you time it right.

But for the sake of simplicity we just do like this. You get favor at the beginning of your turn. And as soon as favor is gained it is put on cards. The game would get too convoluted with all that sillyness.

But reading the rules on page 32-33 og ToB, it says that favor is drawn immediately when invoked and if not enough is available then all favor is put onto the card. It is correct that the text then says "... during his beginning of turn phase, a previously invoked blessing that still requires additional favour will automatically draw any new favor generated until it has..." It just makes no sense that ON the round the blessing is invoked it draws favor as soon as it is available and then on the next turns it HAS to do it in the beginning of turn phase.

I think the example is correct, but since the wfrp 3rd ed. rules aren't as precisely written as some game rules, then you can twist and turn them to make it mean many things. But there is no reason to think that examples are less valid, because when people has to explain something to others through examples they are more likely to get it right than when they just explain the rule itself.

Ok, official answer and comments from Dan & Jay:

I strongly recommend that you invoke only one blessing at a time as it becomes increasingly difficult to remember key facts (like, did I roll any boons on this one?) the more blessings you have "on deck." You also run a greater risk of confusing an "on deck" blessing for one that is recharging. I don't think you'll have any significant limitations to priestly power or problems with balance or interactions if you adopt that as a houserule - but it is a houserule. Per the rules, there's nothing restricting you to only one blessing invoked at a time.

If you do have multiple blessings "on deck," then favour is applied to the first blessing in line until it is successfully resolved, then to the next and so on. So it's first in, first out.

In the unlikely event that a priest resolves multiple blessings in a single turn (due to a very strong Curry Favour, presumably), there's probably no need to punish the character. After all, he did have to spend several turns "doing nothing" to set it up (invoking blessings that would not be resolved until later). If he's being smug about it, though, or if it's causing a problem at your table, feel free to hand out stress for each blessing after the first resolved in the same turn. (Also note that the "first in, first out" rule still applies, so even if he's resolving multiple blessings at once, they still happen in the order he invoked them.)

Pretty much what we sussed out from the rules, but good to have confirmation. I'll also second the idea that, in most games, only allowing a single blessing at a time as a houserule is probably the best way to go, except perhaps in dire situations and with a priest who is pretty darn sure he won't be "bothering" his chosen deity by doing it.