A new rule presented in the Game Master's Vault?

By Armoks, in WFRP Rules Questions

While reading the Rules Inser t of GMV, I've noticed that there is a new rule (or rather an old one is slightly modified) in the section concerning miscast cards. I'm referring to this sentence: "Miscasts are most often triggered when an arcane spellcaster generates one or more [Chaos Star] on a Channelling or Spellcraft check when wielding the winds of magic to fuel or perform a spell."

I've bolded a change, as far as I know up till now a wizard could only generate a miscast when casting a spell. Am I right, or did I get something wrong?

Cheers!

Armoks said:

While reading the Rules Inser t of GMV, I've noticed that there is a new rule (or rather an old one is slightly modified) in the section concerning miscast cards. I'm referring to this sentence: "Miscasts are most often triggered when an arcane spellcaster generates one or more [Chaos Star] on a Channelling or Spellcraft check when wielding the winds of magic to fuel or perform a spell."

I've bolded a change, as far as I know up till now a wizard could only generate a miscast when casting a spell. Am I right, or did I get something wrong?

Cheers!

I think you're right... or I'm as wrong as you gran_risa.gif

This is not a new rule, only clarified.

Miscasts can occur when a chaos star is generated during a Spell action check (ToM, pg. 36, Miscast Cards sidebar). An action card's Action Type (icon in the upper left corner of the card, in the case of spells, a little fireball) is also a Trait of that card (Core Rulebook, pg. 49). Any action with the Spell Action Type can therefore cause a miscast; this include the Channel Power action card.

-Thorvid

Thorvid said:

Miscasts can occur when a chaos star is generated during a Spell action check (ToM, pg. 36, Miscast Cards sidebar).

ToM p. 35: "When a spellcaster generates one or more Chaos Stars on a Spellcraft check to cast a spell , he risks a severe miscast."

As you can see this sentence present rather a different rule from what you've mentioned. However, now I'm 100% sure that a wizard who generates a Chaos Star on a Chanelling check risks a miscast..

Miscasts are random effects from wielding the chaos-based winds. It makes sense to me that such a thing could theoretically occur from channeling (you are pulling in winds and holding them inside yourself...)

On the other hand wizards channel -> cast. And quickcasting puts the purple die on the cast. So channeling will incur 1 challenge (purple) die normally. It's only under wierd conditions (magical flux, gehennisnacht etc) that channeling might pick up an extra challenge die. When a chaos star appears the miscast protocol is to first absorb necessary challenge dice from the effects on the card (and the reckless side does indeed have one) and then go to the miscasts for more.

So in essince, by having only 1 challenge die on the channel, and having it capable of discharging (eating up a chaos star) miscasting on channeling should be exceedingly rare.