Thing in the Ground, Unique Characters and Insanity

By brightknight_216, in CoC Rules Discussion

Question 1:

I read in some threads and some players appear to be fearful with "Thing in the Ground". I have yet to play this card because I am not certain how to put it to good use. My question is how advantageous it is to play this card when it come from the player's deck and not the discard pile which we will have no idea what character that will come out. Personally, I find this card can be more of a disadvantage than an advantage.

I was imagining a situation that I put this card into play, discard my opponent's top two cards from his deck and it happens to be Cthulhu, Lord of R'lyeh (without paying the cost). Even though it is put into play insane but when it comes to my opponent's refresh phase, he can restore it. Despite in the exhausted state, Cthulhu can still trigger his ability by paying 3 to force myself to sacrifice my character.

Question 2:

Also what happen if in a situation I have a unique character, for example Marshall Greene, insane. Can I still play another Marshall Greene but keep the other in an insane state?

Question 3:

And what happen if in using "Thing in the Ground", two of the same unique character, for example Cthulhu, Lord of R'lyeh, were discarded. Do both put into play insane?

brightknight_216 said:

Question 1:

I read in some threads and some players appear to be fearful with "Thing in the Ground". I have yet to play this card because I am not certain how to put it to good use. My question is how advantageous it is to play this card when it come from the player's deck and not the discard pile which we will have no idea what character that will come out. Personally, I find this card can be more of a disadvantage than an advantage.

I was imagining a situation that I put this card into play, discard my opponent's top two cards from his deck and it happens to be Cthulhu, Lord of R'lyeh (without paying the cost). Even though it is put into play insane but when it comes to my opponent's refresh phase, he can restore it. Despite in the exhausted state, Cthulhu can still trigger his ability by paying 3 to force myself to sacrifice my character.

Of course, while insane that big, bad Cthulhu is no icon, 0-skill fodder, easy to take control of, snipe away, etc.

brightknight_216 said:

Question 2:

Also what happen if in a situation I have a unique character, for example Marshall Greene, insane. Can I still play another Marshall Greene but keep the other in an insane state?

Insane characters still retain their name, so can't put in another copy of the same unique character.

brightknight_216 said:

Question 3:

And what happen if in using "Thing in the Ground", two of the same unique character, for example Cthulhu, Lord of R'lyeh, were discarded. Do both put into play insane?

I think you'd put one of them into play insane, other would go to the discard pile.

Dam said:


Question 3:

And what happen if in using "Thing in the Ground", two of the same unique character, for example Cthulhu, Lord of R'lyeh, were discarded. Do both put into play insane?

I think you'd put one of them into play insane, other would go to the discard pile.

Yeah, remember that these things happen sequentially (although effectively simultaneous from the phase perspective). So the first Chtulhu comes into play Insane, and then it is impossible to bring in another one. So it would just be discarded as the uniqueness rule would over-ride the card ability.

Thanks for the reply. I am clearer now on how to play the cards.