Ministrel's Charm & Followers

By ShikukuWabe, in Talisman Rules Questions

his skill states that he may attempt to charm an enemy animal instead of attacking it, and that beast becomes his follower adding its strength to his own in battle, it also says he can use only 1 per battle.

sorry i dont remember the exact wording on the card atm, anyhow here are my questions :

1 ) Can u only tame animals up to a strength of 5? (cause it says you need a higher roll, and u cant roll more than 6, what about strength 6 monsters)

2 ) Can u not tame dragons? (doesnt say animal on the card)

3 ) Is the follower consumed and discarded after each battle you use it at? because according to how the wording seems to be, it seems to imply that you can charm as many animals as you want, but can only use 1 of them at any given moment (cant stack), doesnt seem to mean u need to discard it after using him

4) this is rather obvious I suppose, charmed followers cannot be taken from you (stolen with like mesmerize for example), only destroyed right?

ShikukuWabe said:

1 ) Can u only tame animals up to a strength of 5? (cause it says you need a higher roll, and u cant roll more than 6, what about strength 6 monsters)

2 ) Can u not tame dragons? (doesnt say animal on the card)

3 ) Is the follower consumed and discarded after each battle you use it at? because according to how the wording seems to be, it seems to imply that you can charm as many animals as you want, but can only use 1 of them at any given moment (cant stack), doesnt seem to mean u need to discard it after using him

4) this is rather obvious I suppose, charmed followers cannot be taken from you (stolen with like mesmerize for example), only destroyed right?

#1: You need to roll 6. For Str 6 (or more), there is always the Weakness Spell (gives -3 Str to the creature).

#2: No, only cards with Animal keyword.

#3: No, they are permanent until something specifically causes them to be discarded (Toading, Chasm, Reaper, etc.)

#4: Or you can discard/ditch them if called upon to do something with a Follower. Note that another character can't even target an Animal Follower with Mesmerism (to take it, then discard it), since they can't have them in the first place.

****, awesome trick with weakness never thought about it :P

thanks a lot!

Dam said:

#1: You need to roll 6. For Str 6 (or more), there is always the Weakness Spell (gives -3 Str to the creature).

Whoa, is that true? You can use a spell like that when attempting to charm? I thought you could only do that when engaging in battle with them.

Didn't check the spell wording to be sure, just remembered that someone mentioned that trick at one point. IIRC, it's an at-will spell that lasts until the end of the turn.

Don't forget the 'Marked for Glory Spell' too!

Ell.

#4: Or you can discard/ditch them if called upon to do something with a Follower. Note that another character can't even target an Animal Follower with Mesmerism (to take it, then discard it), since they can't have them in the first place.

What if the ghoul has raised an animal, and another player play as the minstrel?. He too can have animal followers. Or is it simply not allowed to target these special followers?

No the Minstrel cannot take an Animal that has been raised from the dead by the Ghoul. He must charm an Animal according to his special ability only!

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

No the Minstrel cannot take an Animal that has been raised from the dead by the Ghoul. He must charm an Animal according to his special ability only!

Ell.

So these special "followers" can never be stolen by any means?

Correct!

Ell.

Thanks again Ell.

Regards

Just to add some extra clarity, because I'm sure someone will ask the question! If you have to leave a "charmed" follower in a space, like Dungeon Master or the Cell space. Then I believe they get discarded instead of staying on the space.

EvilEdwin said:

Just to add some extra clarity, because I'm sure someone will ask the question! If you have to leave a "charmed" follower in a space, like Dungeon Master or the Cell space. Then I believe they get discarded instead of staying on the space.

These "charmed followers" are not affected by cards targeting Followers (incl. Sorceress/Vampiress ability, Mesmerism, etc...). The discard rule is used only when the Character is killed or when he/she ditches or is forced to the charmed beings. They don't stay on the board, they get discarded instead.