A bit confusing title, maybe, but bear with me.
So I was looking through the Combat rules, checking up on the rule that states that you can exchange a damage die result with the amount of successes rolled. The rule states that if a weapon does several die's of damage, only one die is allowed to be exchanged. However, It doesn't specifily say how this applies to multiple hits.
Lets say I have a storm bolter and fire it on full auto. I have a base BS of 50, +20 for Full Auto, +10 for motion predictior, bringing it to 80. I roll a 07, making that 7 successes.
Now, I also get 8 hits (the opponent couldnt dodge any of them), each doing 1d10+5, with one Tearing die. My question is, can i switch out any damage roll that is less then 7, i.e, neither of the dies being 7 or more, with the amount of successes? Or can i do it for just one of the hits? Being able to do it o all of them seems kinda dangerous...