Question about Choking Shadow (Grey Order)

By estariol2, in WFRP Rules Questions

HI! I have a question about choking shadow action card. Should the soak value count when you use this spell? Shadows choking, smothering and strangling the opponent so why soak value should count? There is no such rule on action card but common sense tell me that I should ignore soak. What do you think?

Soak Value is a term for the damage absorption/reduction mechanism. It is usually Toughness + Others (armor, buffs, etc.)

Actions (melee, range, blessings, spells, etc.) that ignore part of the Soak Value (like Armor Soak Value) do mention it on the cards themselves.

If nothing is mentioned on the "Chocking Shadows" action card, then use the standard Soak Value, To + Armor + buffs/other.

If you want "common sense" to over-rule the base action card, ask you GM about it. The negation of Armor Soak value is usually a result of Boon/Comet lines. The total negation of Soak Value should not be allowed (i remember of only one action that does it, still on high success/Boon lines)

Also, do not confuse with certain actions that will do straight Wound(s) instead of Damage (which do not use the Soak Value system).

Some good feedback from Cwell.

I'll also mention that it partially depends on the descriptive effects the the spell. For example, it could be that the shadow is coalescing into a physical form in order to choke the foe. In such a case, armor would protect from the choking.