Two Heavy Riders boarding at the same time?

By Brine, in Battlestar Galactica

What happens when two heavy Raiders board Galactica at the same time? Do you add a centurion marker to the first two spaces?

Just add them both to the same space I would assume?

It's still going to take two actions to get rid of them...

Yup, one marker per heavy raider landing in the start space....humans dash to the armory, cylons to the cylon fleet action :)

Yep, if two heavy raiders board Galactica at the same time, then put two centurion markers (one on top of the other) in the first space. That means if, for example, Baltar goes to the armory and rolls an eight, one of the markers stays on, but one is taken off. Both centurions move at the same speed and together, as well.

That was probably more information than you needed, but I hope it helped :)

Is there anything in the rules to support this?

Mike said:

Is there anything in the rules to support this?

On page 24 in the rule book, it states:

"When centurions from a heavy raider board Galactica , that heavy raider is removed from the game board, and a centurion token is placed on the start space of the Boarding Party track."

With that said, if two heavy raiders get to a Viper Launch space in the same turn, "a centurion token is placed on the start space of the Boarding Party track." There's nothing in the rules that states you cannot have two centurion markers in same space, so I'm assuming that all four markers can be on the same space at the same time.

I'm unsure of what else you would do if two heavy raiders drop off centurions on the same turn...maybe put them in the first two spaces?

Magique said:

On page 24 in the rule book, it states:

"When centurions from a heavy raider board Galactica , that heavy raider is removed from the game board, and a centurion token is placed on the start space of the Boarding Party track."

With that said, if two heavy raiders get to a Viper Launch space in the same turn, "a centurion token is placed on the start space of the Boarding Party track." There's nothing in the rules that states you cannot have two centurion markers in same space, so I'm assuming that all four markers can be on the same space at the same time.

Since you activate the two Heavy Raiders sequentially you'd just do it twice, right?

So for the first Heavy Raider you'd place your centurion, then remove the raider,

When the second activates to deploy its centurions you'd just follow the same instructions (and place the counter in the "start" of the track?

Stacking them makes the most sense,

Magique said:

There's nothing in the rules that states you cannot have two centurion markers in same space, so I'm assuming that all four markers can be on the same space at the same time.

Generally, rule sets only outline what you can do, otherwise any conceivable action could be justified with, "but it doesn't say I can't ."

With that said, I'm not sure what you would do.

If it was illegal to have two centurians on the same spot, the rules would have said so. Rulebooks often have little tags like that.

Since it doesn't say you can't have two centurians on the same spot, what is there to indicate you can't? It isn't even implied that you can't. Wondering whether you can or not is adding unnecessary complications. Don't make things harder than they are, is my opinion.

And note that this isn't saying you can do anything the rules say you can't, because the rules cover all the options you have on your turn. You can do action X, action Y, or action Z, and those are your only options.

Giving the arguments some consideration, I believe the stacking version is the right way to go in this case. First, the rules indeed do not state that no two Centurion markers may be stacked upon another - or that they are "pushed forward" if another would enter their spot. Second, thematically speaking, both boarding parties enter Galactica at the same time. As the track represents Centurion advances towards the bridge, both markers should be placed on the same spot, because they have have made the same progress/advance so far (it being none - they simply stand in the hangar and begin blasting around).

Works for me.

[10char]

Agree with the above. They are placed in the same space, and advanced simultaneously from there on.

There is one crisis card which says to stack Centurions if you fail, I believe it is a super-crisis actually.