New FAQ is up

By Boromir, in StarCraft

Very nice!

Just a question to the last answer:

Q: When playing the “Eye of Storm” scenario with fewer
than six players, does a player that controls multiple
factions receive both Combat decks?
A: No. Both colors are treated as a single faction. The player
therefore only uses one Combat deck and Technology deck.
This also means that he may mix unit colors in areas.

So I only use one faction sheet and therefore a blue starport is enough to build red wraiths?

One R&D module allow me to place one red AND one blue golden order?

You can play only one event card?

I think that you must see the two fraction as one. The only difference to a normal game is that you have the double amount of units, the rest is treated as one fraction.

So, indeed you only use one fraction sheet and with a blue starport you can built red wraiths.

With one R&D module you may use only one golden order (you only have 4 orders).

And you may only play one event card.

The "Eye of the Storm" scenario errata puts Arcturus Mengsk as starting on Dylar IV. However, Dylar IV is not in the planet setup list. If I am seeing the setup image correctly, Halcyon (which is in the planet setup list) is not in the setup image while Dylar IV is in the setup image. Therefore, I believe that in the planet setup list, Halcyon should be replaced with Dylar IV.

I hope this erratas (and maybe some Q&A) will be had in the Brood War French version happy.gif

I've got a question. In the old FAQ it said you could you had to use a build order if you wanted to turn High Templars into Archons but that seems to be gone from the new FAQ.

Now I don't have Brood War yet as it's not out in my country. So has this been cleared up on a new Archon tech card in the expansion? Or do you no longer need a build order to create Archons?

Thanks

There was no change to anything regarding "Tech Required" units that I am aware of in either the original or broodwar rules, so you would still need to use a build order to get them.

The only clarification regarding tech required units (which is in both the new Broodwar FAQ and the original game FAQ) is:

"Q: When upgrading a Mutalisk to a Guardian (or two
High Templar to an Archon), does the upgraded unit count
towards the build limit for that Build order?
A: “Tech required” units count towards the build limit the
same as a normal unit. Therefore, turning two High Templars
into an Archon counts as building one unit towards the
build limit."