Can We Activate the Action of Exhausted Characters?

By brightknight_216, in CoC Rules Discussion

Dear all,

Just want to know whether we can activate the action of exhausted character? For example, I have friend who played Dangerous Inmate , he committed him to the story and after the story phase, he activate the inmate's action to drive it insane and another of my character insane. Is this possible? His argument is that the card did not say 'exhaust' to activate.

Dangerous Inmate - Action: Drive Dangerous Inmate insane to choose a character with printed skill 2 or lower. That character goes insane.

What your friend is doing is legal. There is nothing in the text that would prevent Dangerous Inmate from using the ability when exhausted.

Thanks Tokhuah for the reply. It really changes the whole game now as I have to watch out for characters that do have to exhaust itself to activate the card effects. happy.gif

Yes, the card will always specify the 'cost' to use it, or when to use it. In this case, it will simply require making it 'insane'. The only time this action would be unusable would be when the card is insane already.