Rullings : Flight Potion, Gipsy's Ability

By ShikukuWabe, in Talisman Rules Questions

2 Questions arose during a game :

Can a flight potion be used similarly to Arnkell or Cloak of Feathers @ inner region to reach CoC? (I dont remember exactly the card but i believe it says instead of rolling for movement which would imply it cant?)

Gipsy's Ability allows her to gain a spell that has just been discarded, if the Gipsy is full (craft 5, 2 spells in possession), can she take the discarded spell and discard one from her possesion instead?

ShikukuWabe said:

2 Questions arose during a game :

Can a flight potion be used similarly to Arnkell or Cloak of Feathers @ inner region to reach CoC? (I dont remember exactly the card but i believe it says instead of rolling for movement which would imply it cant?)

Gipsy's Ability allows her to gain a spell that has just been discarded, if the Gipsy is full (craft 5, 2 spells in possession), can she take the discarded spell and discard one from her possesion instead?

1) No, Flight potion requires you to be in a situation where you roll for movement.

2) As I understand it nothing can discard your spells other than some specific effects here and there (there is a trinket in the Highlands that allows you to discard all your spells and gain new spells to replace them)

No, you can`t discard a spell unless the gypsy cast the spell as normal, but to do so it must have some effect, then she can draw the spell. but in this case she can`t.

Drake Leonclaw said:

1) No, Flight potion requires you to be in a situation where you roll for movement.

Hey, you're right. The text of the card is clear about die rolling. No Inner Region teleport then.

The_Warlock said:

Drake Leonclaw said:

1) No, Flight potion requires you to be in a situation where you roll for movement.

Hey, you're right. The text of the card is clear about die rolling. No Inner Region teleport then.

I didn't realise that until Drake pointed it out. I guess I need to read the cards more closely.