Dual strike with a spiked shield

By Milkshaker, in WFRP Rules Questions

Hey peeps,

So i got this spiked shield that I can use as an improvised weapon when I attack with it. Do you guys think I should be allowed to use dual strike with my main hand weapon and my shield improvised weapon? (i.e. is it within the rules?)

Thanks!

Milkshaker said:

Hey peeps,

So i got this spiked shield that I can use as an improvised weapon when I attack with it. Do you guys think I should be allowed to use dual strike with my main hand weapon and my shield improvised weapon? (i.e. is it within the rules?)

Thanks!

Can't remember but I think the dual strike cards requires you to have a hand weapon in each hand and a spiked shield can't qualify as that. You could get a bonus die or bonus damage to shield bash if you purchased that action card. I wouldn't allow it as a GM.

It's a good point, i have a Sigmar priest with hand weapon and spiked buckler. I would have thought you could use it for duel strike as the spiked buckler counts as a gauntlet. I guess if anything you could just make it a house rule. It'll certainly make it cool to use and very visual.

I would say yes, you can.

Double strike card says that you require a melee weapon on each hand. It does not specify, so it does not matter which one. So if your shield counts as an improvised weapon or as a gauntlet or whatever, I would say Yes, you can do it!

Gallows said:

Milkshaker said:

Hey peeps,

So i got this spiked shield that I can use as an improvised weapon when I attack with it. Do you guys think I should be allowed to use dual strike with my main hand weapon and my shield improvised weapon? (i.e. is it within the rules?)

Thanks!

Can't remember but I think the dual strike cards requires you to have a hand weapon in each hand and a spiked shield can't qualify as that. You could get a bonus die or bonus damage to shield bash if you purchased that action card. I wouldn't allow it as a GM.

You do know - thats what I used during the first session of our current campaign ... (until you were gracious enough to allow me to retrain 'double strike' ...for other reasons)

In any case, I cant remember exactly but Im pretty sure I double checked it at the time .... couldnt double strike say "Melee weapon in each hand"?? In which case a spiked buckler definately DOES qualify ... in the basic set I think its also pretty much the only actioncard which makes sense to even use with a spiked buckler ....

Yepesnopes said:

I would say yes, you can.

Double strike card says that you require a melee weapon on each hand. It does not specify, so it does not matter which one. So if your shield counts as an improvised weapon or as a gauntlet or whatever, I would say Yes, you can do it!

I see it this way too.