Taking followers; the Sorceress

By Drake Leonclaw, in Talisman Rules Questions

Are the sorceress, minstrel, and vampiress's ability to take followers counted as abilities they do instead of encountering a space or character or can they take a follower and then encounter the area like normal? Likewise, can the sorceress both attempt to beguile a character AND take a follower, or just one or the other?

They are special abilities used against other characters and are considered to be encounters with other characters. You cannot attack the other characters or use any other special abilities against them, nor may you then choose to encounter the space!

Ell.

So does that mean the sorceress has two abilities that she can use to affect other characters and she must choose one of them to use?

Yes. Beguile an Object or gold OR take a Follower.

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

Yes. Beguile an Object or gold OR take a Follower.

Ell.

I think that most people here is misguided by wrong localizations that, even if labeled FFG, were based on BI material...